Chris McGuire
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't picked up the Borg expansion yet, but should be getting it this week and I'm looking at using them in a game of Ascendancy on Sunday.

I would like to use the non-Delta Quadrant Connection option as I like the idea of the tension of not knowing if the Borg will show up and every turn of an Exploration card bringing that chance. But I'm curious what the actual chances would be of them showing up?

So, for anyone that has the Borg expansion:

1) 10 total Borg exploration cards in a deck that will include the Cardassian, Ferengi, and 50th Anniversary cards....pretty slim chances, right? I'm not good at figuring out percentages, but I imagine that's pretty low.

2) Do the Borg system discs (not counting the Transwarp Hub since you only use it in a Delta Quadrant Connection setup) have a chance to bring the Borg into the game?

3) Has anyone played with this option and, if so, what was your result?

Thanks!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris McGuire
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Aha! found a list of the Borg system discs. Looks like there are 2 discs that *could* spawn a cube: the two Transwarp Conduits. But only if someone takes the research token and only if they then roll a 6.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris McGuire
United States
Lexington
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmm, looking at this entry:

http://startrek.gf9games.com/Home/tabid/56/entryid/147/borg-...

If the couple examples of Red Exploration cards shown here are representative, I wonder why you wouldn't just include all 20 Borg Exploration cards in the game, even when not using Delta Quadrant Connection?

I think I may do this as a house rule, just to up the chances of the Borg appearing, but not having them have an immediate and definite presence from the start, like having the Transwarp Hub can give.

Thoughts?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls