Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Hunt for the Ring» Forums » Rules

Subject: Search in Part 2 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michal Starek
Czech Republic
Sezimovo Usti
flag msg tools
badge
REALLY badass
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rulebook wrote:

A Search performed in a location featured on
Frodo’s current Journey card successfully locates
him (the Ring–bearer player answers with a “yes”),
similarly to what happened with Frodo’s locations
marked on the Journey log during Part 1.

Gandalf does not leave tracks, and he cannot
ever be located by a Search: searching a location
featured on his Journey log always results in a “no”
answer (including his last location).


Huh? So what happens if both are in the area being Searched? Which rule is stronger? Does Gandalf's presence hide Frodo?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Brennan
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You reply that "Yes, Frodo is in the area" and don't mention Gandalf at all. disregard - see below
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gandalf obscures Perceptions, but not Searches or Hunts.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Oakley
United States
Brandon
Mississippi
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rulebook wrote:
A Search performed in a location featured on
Frodo’s current Journey card successfully locates
him (the Ring–bearer player answers with a “yes”),
similarly to what happened with Frodo’s locations
marked on the Journey log during Part 1.

Gandalf does not leave tracks, and he cannot
ever be located by a Search: searching a location
featured on his Journey log always results in a “no”
answer (including his last location), unless Frodo has moved through that location.


It would definitely be clearer with my modification (which I believe is correct).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Williams
Scotland
Elgin
Moray
flag msg tools
mbmb
TreacleMiner wrote:
You reply that "Yes, Frodo is in the area" and don't mention Gandalf at all.


The question was about searches, which occur in locations not areas. They also don't tell the Nazgul if Frodo is in the location or not, only whether it appears on his journey log on or before Frodo's position on his movement track.

I think you're confusing the language with Perceptions, which can target areas.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michal Starek
Czech Republic
Sezimovo Usti
flag msg tools
badge
REALLY badass
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Orion3T wrote:
TreacleMiner wrote:
You reply that "Yes, Frodo is in the area" and don't mention Gandalf at all.


The question was about searches, which occur in locations not areas. They also don't tell the Nazgul if Frodo is in the location or not, only whether it appears on his journey log on or before Frodo's position on his movement track.

I think you're confusing the language with Perceptions, which can target areas.


To be fair, I should have written "location" in my original question. I certainly did mean location, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Björkman
Sweden
Jönköping
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So I'm still confused.
Is the answer given by the fellowship player "yes" or "no"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Chapman
United States
Powhatan
Virginia
flag msg tools
Axis & Allies Developer and Playtester; War of the Ring Editor and Playtester
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Yes." The Search would detect Frodo (Gandalf's presence does nothing to block it), but not Gandalf.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lucas Björkman
Sweden
Jönköping
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It's right there in the rulebook in the column next to the quoted text above.

Putting it here for future reference:

p.32
Special Cases
- If a Search is performed in a location appearing both on Frodo's current Journey card and on Gandalf's Journey log, a Track token is placed to mark the passage of Frodo (the Wizard is not discerned in any way).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.