1 , 2  Next »   | 

Scythe» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Is Scythe a combat game?: An opinion rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel See
msg tools
mb
Let me preface my remarks that I’m a novice at Scythe, and rarely do I post on BGG. I do like to read everyone’s thoughts, but I don’t feel like I have the authority to write reviews on games or the skill to write about theory craft. I did however want to share from my experience, and I’m curious if others found the same thing, or if different, what might account for the differences.

I heard a lot about how little combat plays into Scythe. I heard a lot about how the game disincentivizes combat and in some way punishes the aggressor. I heard advice not to expect any combat. I heard reports of games in which combat occurred only 1 or 2 games. I even heard the game is more a 3X game than a true 4X game.

Because of all I heard I went into my first play of Scythe reluctant to engage in combat. In fact, everyone at the table shied away from combat and instead just kept to themselves. As a result, one player, Crimea, was allowed to build an incredibly powerful engine and ran away with the victory.

That made me realize that I HAD to engage in combat to slow down my opponents.

I then recently played a game, as Polania, and my opponent, Nordic, was relatively isolated and therefore free to build their engine and play the territory control game. I felt like I had to stop Nordic, or suffer the same fate when I left Crimea alone. So I deployed my Cameraderie mech power and went on a military march, forcing Nordic off territories and stealing resources. In the same game, Saxony picked on Crimea, targeting wherever Crimea’s mechs were unaccompanied by workers. I ended up winning that game. I’m pretty certain had I played more passively, Nordic would’ve ran away with the victory.