Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Star Trek: Ascendancy – Borg Assimilation» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Impact of player vs AI controlled Borg? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Sebastian Samberg
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The title basically says it all. What has been your experience with the Borg as an AI versus as a player (or several)? Do they get much more dangerous? Do you have interesting choices to make as an assimilated player or are your choices mostly obvious? Is it fun?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jared Cowing
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
In my experience the AI Borg are much easier to hold off; if there are multiple cubes (and there usually are with transwarp hub), they tend to cluster in the same space lane. You just activate the cube in the rear, it doesn't move, activates the one in front, and so on, rendering all but the cube in front stationary. Often before you get to the cube in front that can actually move, a command card comes up that ends the turn or sends them all back into Borg space. An assimilated human can activate the front cube first, and through collective efficiency it might get to attack / assimilate several times in one round... It has the potential to be like night and day IMO.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Snow
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
robot One could always play a house rule scenario where one player started as the Borg, and got credit for a game win as such.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
romano veronese
Italy
flag msg tools
mb
Quote:
You just activate the cube in the rear, it doesn't move, activates the one in front, and so on, rendering all but the cube in front stationary

Question: The cube in front that is activated from the cube in the rear lost its own activation ? The rules say that just one activation,but may be this situaction could be interpreted as the "transfer" activation of first cube ?
2)Some times the cube in the rear( in the space lane,not in the previous world) travel at speed 1 2 3 warp so it pass trought the front cube.
The situation ocr just one cube has to end the movement in the same space of another. And the command that move all cubes not make them collide.
Right ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Elfström
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
buondiavolo wrote:
Quote:
You just activate the cube in the rear, it doesn't move, activates the one in front, and so on, rendering all but the cube in front stationary

Question: The cube in front that is activated from the cube in the rear lost its own activation ? The rules say that just one activation,but may be this situaction could be interpreted as the "transfer" activation of first cube ?
2)Some times the cube in the rear( in the space lane,not in the previous world) travel at speed 1 2 3 warp so it pass trought the front cube.
The situation ocr just one cube has to end the movement in the same space of another. And the command that move all cubes not make them collide.
Right ?


It is probably in reference to this rule:

Quote:
COLLECTIVE EFFICIENCY
Sectors may not contain more than one Cube. If a Cube’s movement would have it end in the same Sector as another Cube, stop in the Sector before the Cube already occupying the Sector. After the moving Cube’s actions are complete, activate the stationary Cube, even if it has already gone this turn.


Note that Cubes are allowed to fly past each other. Collective Efficiency only applies "If a Cube’s movement would have it end in the same Sector as another Cube".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.