Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Fire in the Sky: The Great Pacific War 1941-1945» Forums » Rules

Subject: Return to Base rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Severus Snape
Canada
flag msg tools
Pascal said, "The eternal silence of these infinite spaces terrifies me."
badge
"The heart has its reasons which reason knows nothing of."--Pascal
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I read this in D. Bryant's fine review:

Quote:

However, this is not as one-sided as it sounds. You see, each time an Allied unit goes on a combat sortie, it returns not to its starting base, but rather all the way back to the West Coast (for the US) or India (for the UK), from where it must be shipped out to Pearl (or Bombay) before entering the theater again. This reflects the need for these units to return to a base larger than the ones at the islands for periodic refit. Therefore, effective management of your ever-increasing numbers of ships is essential to winning.


Does this apply to both sides? I am assuming so, but the stress on the Allied side in this quote leaves me a little confused.

If the IJN uses a 2nd deployment to base in Truk, and then uses operational movement in the following turn, does it have to return to home waters in Japan? I am assuming the answer is yes, and the Japanese player must conform to the quote above.

goo

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bentlarsen wrote:
I read this in D. Bryant's fine review:

Quote:

However, this is not as one-sided as it sounds. You see, each time an Allied unit goes on a combat sortie, it returns not to its starting base, but rather all the way back to the West Coast (for the US) or India (for the UK), from where it must be shipped out to Pearl (or Bombay) before entering the theater again. This reflects the need for these units to return to a base larger than the ones at the islands for periodic refit. Therefore, effective management of your ever-increasing numbers of ships is essential to winning.


Does this apply to both sides? I am assuming so, but the stress on the Allied side in this quote leaves me a little confused.

If the IJN uses a 2nd deployment to base in Truk, and then uses operational movement in the following turn, does it have to return to home waters in Japan? I am assuming the answer is yes, and the Japanese player must conform to the quote above.

goo



Applies to both - but the US West Coast is farther from the action than Yokosuka is for Japan.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Severus Snape
Canada
flag msg tools
Pascal said, "The eternal silence of these infinite spaces terrifies me."
badge
"The heart has its reasons which reason knows nothing of."--Pascal
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you, Wendell.

goo
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.