9 Posts

Aeon's End» Forums » General

Subject: Thoughts on market drafting? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Berg
msg tools
mbmbmb
I'm relatively new to the game, currently getting familiar with the mages and nemesis (base + WE) by playing once against each, solo two-handed.

For my first games I used the randomizer to create the market, but I've found that this often leads to frustrating games with bad card synergies, where it feels like I never had a chance in the first place.

I decided to try some kind of drafting method, and since then my enjoyment of the game has been vastly improved (my top solo game atm next to mage knight).

I know there are plenty of ways to draft the market, and I'm really interested to hear about other drafting methods than my own, which is still in the research phase. I currently sort the randomizer deck by type, then reveal one card from each and choose one to keep. Repeat until market is full. Chosen cards can't be replaced. It works ok, but it ain't perfect either.

Being able to influence the market setup is great, but I don't want to handpick every card either. It feels a bit like cheating to me. Maybe I'm wrong though, seeing how brutal this game can be.

The game has certainly grown on me, especially as a solo experience.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dreux Barbier
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've seen posts about online market randomizers here on bgg.. look for that.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K M
msg tools
We usually use the online randomizer and repeat it until we get something that looks somewhat balanced (doesn't have to be perfect). From there, each player gets ONE free veto/swap for any card they want - no questions asked by the rest of the group. We feel this gives us a balance of cards that synergize well with their mages and also different cards for us to play with each game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls