Trevin Beattie
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules about moving say "If you land on a star symbol in the corridor, STOP MOVING and take a Help card." The question came up whether one can pass through a star symbol without landing there, or if stepping on that spot counts and landing even if you intend to move further?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Doug Dee
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
My interpretation is that you cannot pass through a star symbol; you must stop as soon as your pawn touches it.

If the intended meaning were that you can pass through if you like, and you stop & take a card only if you want to, then it would be very strange for the rules to be phrased as they are, yelling at you to "STOP MOVING" in all caps.

Note that the only other place the rules say "STOP MOVING" concerns entering a room, where (as is the case in other versions of Clue) you don't have the option to continue; once you enter the room, you come to an immediate halt.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.