Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Battle for Rokugan» Forums » Rules

Subject: First player card rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lala Lala
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
When playing the “first player” card
U can remove a token from another player from the board too his own token pool

Q: can that player still drop a total of 5 tokens At the end of everybody’s turn? Or can he just drop 4 tokens?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
troy jones
United States
Huntsville
Alabama
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope, that player loses out on one token-placement for the round. First Player Card would be nearly pointless otherwise.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nova Cat
United States
Bakersfield
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Players don't place a certain number of tokens each round; they place tokens until everyone only has one token left behind their screen. The First Player card doesn't change that.

What you may be misunderstanding is that the "Token Pool" to which the token is returned is not the same as the player's hand of tokens. Rather, it is the pool of face-down tokens from which the player draws his tokens.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
X Shrike
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Since this thread is about the first player card. I take it that it can be used at any point during the placement phase as long as it is done before the first player places a token. It doesn't have to be the first thing done by the first player at the start of the placement phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Potts
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
mb
In regards to playing the First player card and you happen to choose a bluff token, does this return to the owner's Pool or Hand?

The rulebook clearly states discarded bluff tokens are always returned to their owners’ hands. But as the First player card is written it isn't really a discard.

Would they effectively "lose" their bluff token until they potentially drew it from their pool in a future upkeep phase?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Potts
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
mb
jhawk6 wrote:
In regards to playing the First player card and you happen to choose a bluff token, does this return to the owner's Pool or Hand?

The rulebook clearly states discarded bluff tokens are always returned to their owners’ hands. But as the First player card is written it isn't really a discard.

Would they effectively "lose" their bluff token until they potentially drew it from their pool in a future upkeep phase?


Official answer from FFG:

"That’s a great question. If you choose the bluff token, it is returned to its owner’s hand, but set aside until the next round; they cannot use it this round. I would recommend having them place it faceup in front of their daimyo screen for the duration of that round to ensure they don’t accidentally use it."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.