Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Gaia Project» Forums » General

Subject: Form a federation question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jon Pessano
United States
Tampa
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
All,

On page 15, why does the second example say “Forming this federation is not allowed.”?

I count a power of 8 so it doesn’t make sense to me.

Also, on page 15, why does example 1 say “since at least two satellites are needed in both cases, the red possibility is allowed.”? What does that mean?

Thx
jonpfl
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pierre Carette
Canada
Delta
British Columbia (Canada)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb

The extra mine is not needed and this is why this federation is not valid
On page 14 in additional rules:
You cannot form a federation by connecting more planets and satellites than are needed to form it.

First example is still allowed with the red satellites since you are still using the same amount of satellites I guess. That part of the rule seems contradicting.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Wolfpacker
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Right below the picture it says:

Quote:
The mine (power value 1) and the connecting blue-circled
satellite are not needed to reach a power value of 7. The redcircled
satellite is sufficient to achieve this.


Since you only need 7 power, adding an extra Mine for an 8th power with an extra satellite is not allowed.

The 1st example shows that you could add an unneeded structure because it uses the same number of satellites.

See this topic for in depth explanation...
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.