My Mercenary Alchemist is a filthy Scratch addict. His adopted Alley Cat daughter aids him by sniffing out the stuff in the lowest of dens.
Trouble is I'm not sure if I'm doing the Weakness card correctly. It states: "When you Rest, if you do not use Scratch during the Map Action Phase, you become Demoralized. If you are already Demoralized, you are also Poisoned."
Okay cool, so if I don't use Scratch during the Map Action Phase I'll become Demoralized. But when I Recover I remove Demoralized so when will I ever become Poisoned? (except when using Scratch itself, haha what a degenerate drug).
Maybe I've been playing it wrong, but the way I treat "when you Rest, you become ..." effects is to just not remove the status counter; that way, you're Poisoned the second time you Rest without using scratch. That may not be by the letter of the rules, but I think that's the intent.
This is what I have effectively been doing but keep reading the card every few rounds as I feel like something was wrong.
Rest remove counters -> Dont have Scratch, become Demoralized. Already Demoralized, become Poisoned. So it becomes Demoralized and then Poisoned and then next round Demoralized again... hmm.
Loving the game to death I just want to make sure my shady chem-merc is scratching efficiently. Besides the poisoning, Scratch does allow him to focus and mix together some Smoke and Flash bombs in a single day.
Hi guys, I will add this to the FAQ since it's not abundantly clear;
- when you rest, you first recover, so you would lose any status conditions you have unless you are in a metaph. space.
- if you don't do any scratch during the map action phase, you become demoralized. This triggers at the end of the map action phase if you haven't done any scratch this turn.
- if you were somehow demoralized during the course of the map action phase (because of another weakness, an attack in the market, or doing some other drugs, etc. - there are many ways to become demoralized in this game), then you would already be demoralized at the end of the phase and therefore also become poisoned from withdrawals.
so if you rest on two subsequent turns without doing any scratch, you do not end up poisoned unless something else is going on.
astute players will notice that the cost & effects of maintaining your addiction are actually worse than the withdrawal symptoms, like in real life That being said, getting to do alchemy twice each time you rest in a town is pretty great.