Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Greenland» Forums » Rules

Subject: Living Rules p15-attacks are one round but not according to example rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jonathan F
United States
Corpus Christi
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
from p15 of living rules:
"Your tribesmen must attack other tribesmen on the same card by rolling a number of dice equal to the
number of your tribesmen present. Each player is allowed one round of attacks per card. Except for War
Parties (see below), each “1” will kill a tribesman of the victim’s choice."

but then later on for an example on p15:
"Example : In a Sabine Raid, there are 2 Thule Raiders and 2 defending Norse Guards. The Thule have
more iron, and roll a “5” and “6”. The Thule have an imported sword, allowing him to re-roll the “6”,
which is a “1”. The Norse are down to one defender, who rolls a “2” and kills off one Thule. The
surviving Thule rolls a “3” for his hunt roll in the next phase. This is a bloody dice which kills the last
Raider and spoils the raid."

So why does a round 2 commence? wouldn't it go one round of fighting and then the raiders get to attempt their raid roll? or does a sabine raid go differently where each side fights round after round until only one side has cubes remaining (husband/guards or raiders) and then if the raider remains he attempts the sabine raid?

same question for livestock raids.

lastly, do biome hunts follow this rule as well? i would think not for sure here since there is protocol to hunt starting with lowest numbers of hunters first which implies there is a chance that after combat, multiple factions could still have hunters on teh same biome.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gorka Muniozguren
Spain
Artziniega
flag msg tools
MiniMoncho Remoloncho + Circenilla
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The "3" that kills the last Thule is the "3" printed on the daughter not a second attack round
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Eklund
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden Würtenberg
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
umrmeche wrote:
from p15 of living rules:
"Your tribesmen must attack other tribesmen on the same card by rolling a number of dice equal to the
number of your tribesmen present. Each player is allowed one round of attacks per card. Except for War
Parties (see below), each “1” will kill a tribesman of the victim’s choice."

but then later on for an example on p15:
"Example : In a Sabine Raid, there are 2 Thule Raiders and 2 defending Norse Guards. The Thule have
more iron, and roll a “5” and “6”. The Thule have an imported sword, allowing him to re-roll the “6”,
which is a “1”. The Norse are down to one defender, who rolls a “2” and kills off one Thule. The
surviving Thule rolls a “3” for his hunt roll in the next phase. This is a bloody dice which kills the last
Raider and spoils the raid."

So why does a round 2 commence? wouldn't it go one round of fighting and then the raiders get to attempt their raid roll? or does a sabine raid go differently where each side fights round after round until only one side has cubes remaining (husband/guards or raiders) and then if the raider remains he attempts the sabine raid?

same question for livestock raids.

lastly, do biome hunts follow this rule as well? i would think not for sure here since there is protocol to hunt starting with lowest numbers of hunters first which implies there is a chance that after combat, multiple factions could still have hunters on teh same biome.


As demonstrated in this example, there is only one attack roll (and thus 1 round of fighting) in The Negotiation/Attack Phase (Phase 3). There is also one hunt roll (and thus 1 round of hunting) in the Hunt Phase (Phase 4). In this example, the Thule roll 5,6 in the Attack Roll, and a 3 in the Hunt Roll. (This unfortunate Hunt Roll means all the Thule were decimated, and thus the raid was unsuccessful). I hope this answers your question.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan F
United States
Corpus Christi
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
got it thank you. have one other question that i will ask in a separate thread.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.