Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Captain Sonar» Forums » Rules

Subject: Use of Markers While Surfaced rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Consider Phlebas
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This may be obvious, but I just wanted to double-check with the community to make sure I’ve got this right. In the rule book it says:

“While a team is surfaced and repairing, the enemy team continues playing. Teammates on a surfaced submarine can use their marker pens only to secure the submarine.”

Does this mean the Radio Operator cannot update the overlay while surfaced?

Also, the next line says:

“In the mean time, the Captain resets his route by erasing the route on his sheet, keeping only the submarine’s current position and the positions of his mines (see Dropping a Mine, page 6).”

So, does he erase AFTER the sub is repaired (see the first rule), or is the eraser considered different from the pen such that erasing can happen simultaneously?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B. Perry
United States
Colorado Springs
Colorado
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jeeky wrote:
Does this mean the Radio Operator cannot update the overlay while surfaced?
Yes. Everyone puts down their pens unless they are actively repairing the submarine. Make sure you choose a radio operator with a good memory.

As for erasing, we play that all erasing occurs just after the sub resubmerges.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yohan Lemonnier
France
flag msg tools
Hi everyone.

The sequence is :
- ALL markers down while surfacing, except for securing the sub (so no keeping track of the enemy for the radio operator).
- Erasing occurs just after the enemy team validates the repair.
- THEN you dive.

Cheers

Yohan,designer of Cpt SONAR
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Moody
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow. Have been playing that wrong all along.

Good question jeeky.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
GiB GiB
France
flag msg tools
scandale wrote:

- Erasing occurs just after the enemy team validates the repair.
- THEN you dive.


I think the enemy should not see the breakdowns of the surfacing ship.
This could give away the direction of a past silence.

As an example, here is a puzzle.
Before surfacing, Blue ship does (not necessarily in that order):
- 4 West moves
- 10 North moves
- 14 South moves
- 9 East moves
- 2 silences

When they hand their engineer mat for validation, the Yellow team reads:
- 1 West breakdown
- 1 North breakdown
- 3 South breakdowns
- 1 East breakdown

Then Yellow knows that one of the silences went South, and the other went "no move".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.