No. You should read the rules I linked to.
From the 1st edition rules (I think the only notable change for 2nd is that you reshuffle an empty Evolution stack).
"If a monster ends his rolls with at least 3 [heart], he draws the top Evolution of his deck, keeping it secret. The hearts do not need to to be used to regain life, and a player can even use the hearts to draw an Evolution when in Tokyo.
The card does not replace healing, the card is in addition to any healing that would normally occur."