Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Dungeons & Dragons: Tomb of Annihilation Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Treasure card limit rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luke Hutter
msg tools
Is there a limit to the number of treasure cards a hero may have? I've only played the first adventure, and I received 5 treasure cards that I got to hold on to. Is there a limit on holding them, or a limit when entering the next adventure?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lawrence Davis
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no limit. May be a good idea to sell items for gold to upgrade skills though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevin Beattie
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just want to add that while there is no limit for just having Treasures, there is a restriction on benefiting from items that give you a bonus to AC or bonus Attack: these don’t stack; you may only use one of each type of bonus at a time. So you may as well hang on to the best item if you have more than one, and either sell the lesser items or use them as scraps for thieves.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
In another thread I got a clarification from Wizards of the Coast (WotC) for some other instances:

1. You can use one Attack item AND one Damage item with one Hero Attack power ie. a +1 attack item magic sword and +1 damage gauntlets of ogre power (but there's there's only about 3 or 4 damage bonus items in all of the games)with an At-Will attack power.


2. This will rarely come up and everyone probably would play this correctly but you can't stack any Treasure Items on top of a Treasure Attack Item that mechanically looks & acts like an At-Will hero power.

ie. Wand of Acid Arrows is a Treasure Item card from LoD. There’s some other attack items like it in all of the games that have attack modifiers & damage that mechanically look & function like a hero At-Will power.

The wand says “Use instead of attacking” “Attack 1 Monster within 1 tile of your Hero” you roll a d20 just like an At-will power “Attack +5 | Damage 2” “Flip this card over after use”

So to be clear a +1 attack item magic sword and +1 damage gauntlets of ogre power can't be used with the Wand of Acid Arrows even though you roll a d20 like a Hero At-Will attack power. thematically it'd make no sense anyway. however with that being said an arcane ie. non-martial hero such as a wizard could still use a +1 attack item magic sword and +1 damage gauntlets of ogre power and a fighter could use a wand of acid arrows
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
First Sgt

Connecticut
msg tools
Can you "stack" advancement bonuses, such as *1damage, to treasure cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevin Beattie
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MongolKahn wrote:
Can you "stack" advancement bonuses, such as *1damage, to treasure cards?


Advancement tokens may be used in addition to buffs from items, but only once per game.

Rules, p. 14 wrote:
✦ +1 Damage: This token can be used after you hit with an attack to deal +1 damage.

Once you have purchased an Advancement token, you may use it as noted during an adventure. It does not take an action. After you use it, flip it over and it becomes inaccessible until the next adventure.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.