Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: "On the next x sources if damage..." rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nicolas Nobrega
msg tools
Quick question: some items and powers say you take no damage/less damage from the next x sources of damage. If the attack deals no damage due to modifier cards, for example, would it still trigger the ability?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Janicek
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No.

FAQ under Item Use:
"If an item says it is used on the next "source of damage", does that include when the damage is 0?"
No.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
no, if the attack modifier card nulls the damage (or reduces it to zero), then the attack is no longer a source of damage.
Also, I believe that you can choose which order to apply any "defensive" modifiers (such as this one), so that if you had some other effect in place that provided Shield that would reduce the attack to zero damage, then you wouldn't have to trigger the "next source of damage" ability, since there would be no damage remaining.

And on a side note, it is important to distinguish the full text on these cards, as some say "on the next source of damage from an attack", which would not trigger in the case of damage from Retaliate, Wound, Trap, etc.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nicolas Nobrega
msg tools
Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Silverback
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, losing a card from hand (or 2 from discard) to prevent damage will also prevent these abilities from triggering, as it is no longer considered a source of damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Maertz
United States
Duluth
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
I was wondering...if you take one damage to reselect your Short Rest lost card....does that count as a source of damage?

Wakrob
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Source of damage, yes. Attack, no.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gauti Gislason
Iceland
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
A follow up question on this. Other ways to loose hitpoints, like trap or wound are the considered for "source of damage"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Ender
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, "source of damage" refers to any kind of damage (including "suffers X damage" effects). Even the one damage you can take to redraw on a short rest.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.