Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Azul» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can you place "throw away" tiles on row with same color already placed on wall? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jack Gibson
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Question probably says it all, but we got this for Christmas and had an "argument" with my middle son about this on our 3rd game.

It was the last round since someone completed a horizontal row. He'd already placed a red tile on his wall from the 4 tile row earlier in the game and ended up having to take 4 red tiles from the center. He placed them in his empty 4 tile row. I told him he couldn't do that since he'd already placed a red tile from that row on his wall earlier in the game. Since he didn't have room for them on his 1,2,3 or 5 rows, he needed to place them on his floor for negative points. He thought he should be able to since it didn't matter.

Who was correct?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin G
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Don't fall in love with me yet, we only recently met
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You were correct
14 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kim Williams
United Kingdom
St Just
Cornwall
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If I'm understanding your story correctly, then you were right. You can't place tiles in a row unless they could be legitimately moved across into your wall. He would have needed to add them to his floor.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Blum
United States
Wilmington
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Specific rule, for reference:

Quote:
You are not allowed to place tiles of a certain color in a pattern line whose corresponding line of your wall already holds a tile of that color.

13 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt L.
United States
Seahurst
Washington
flag msg tools
I have text here
badge
So important!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 4 of the rules covers this if you were uncertain :

Quote:
In all later rounds, you must also comply with the following
rule: You are not allowed to place tiles of a certain color in
a pattern line whose corresponding line of your wall already
holds a tile of that color.
5 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Gibson
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
entwife wrote:
If I'm understanding your story correctly, then you were right. You can't place tiles in a row unless they could be legitimately moved across into your wall. He would have needed to add them to his floor.


That's what I was trying to say, yes. I was doing a very poor job, but, yes, that's it. Thank you!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Gibson
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
tool wrote:
Specific rule, for reference:

Quote:
You are not allowed to place tiles of a certain color in a pattern line whose corresponding line of your wall already holds a tile of that color.



Thank you! I had the rule book out at the time, but, "under pressure" I can never seem to find what I'm looking for! lol
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Gibson
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
LunaWolvesMan wrote:
Page 4 of the rules covers this if you were uncertain :

Quote:
In all later rounds, you must also comply with the following
rule: You are not allowed to place tiles of a certain color in
a pattern line whose corresponding line of your wall already
holds a tile of that color.


I greatly appreciate it!!! While scanning through a rule book in the middle of gameplay, I can never find what I want, it seems. blush
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Gibson
United States
Missouri
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks everyone for clearing this up!!! Thats why BGG is the best!
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sisicaivrai sisicaivrai
Belgium
flag msg tools
mb
LunaWolvesMan wrote:
Page 4 of the rules covers this if you were uncertain :

Quote:
In all later rounds, you must also comply with the following
rule: You are not allowed to place tiles of a certain color in
a pattern line whose corresponding line of your wall already
holds a tile of that color.


But what if you fill the two preparation lines with the same color (let's say line 3 and 1: line 3 with two pieces in one round, then line 1 with one piece another round and then line 3 again with the last needed piece) but then you move piece 1 on the wall but cannot move line 3 first piece on the wall because of column restrictions.
Will this piece only go on the floor, or the full line?

Edit: using advanced board with no pre-filled colors.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin G
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Don't fall in love with me yet, we only recently met
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The full line.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.