Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Scythe: The Wind Gambit» Forums » Rules

Subject: hero airship ability, the Saxon player, and objective stars rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stephen Cope
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Hero wrote:
When your airship ends its movement on a village, you may pay 1 objective card to gain 1 objective card and 1 popularity.

Rulebook wrote:
You may reveal a completed objective card during your own turn before or after you complete a top- or bottom-row action. If you do, place 1 star token on the objective space of the Triumph Track and discard the card along with your other objective to the bottom of the objective deck. You can only achieve 1 objective star, unless you’re the Saxon player, who can achieve up to 2 objective stars.

1. If a player completes an objective, their other card is discarded which means the hero ability is no longer available.

2. If the Saxon player completes an objective, their other card is discarded which means they will never get a second objective star.

It follows that: it's impossible for the Saxon player to complete their first objective then exchange their second, right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Saxon player doesn't need to discard an objective when they complete an objective (in any game of Scythe). So the Saxon player might complete one objective and later use Hero, discarding their second objective and drawing a new one.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Combs
United States
Spring Lake Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bfchooch wrote:

Hero wrote:
When your airship ends its movement on a village, you may pay 1 objective card to gain 1 objective card and 1 popularity.

Rulebook wrote:
You may reveal a completed objective card during your own turn before or after you complete a top- or bottom-row action. If you do, place 1 star token on the objective space of the Triumph Track and discard
the card along with your other objective to the bottom of the objective deck. You can only achieve 1 objective star, unless you’re the Saxon player, who can achieve up to 2 objective stars.

1. If a player completes an objective, their other card is discarded which means the hero ability is no longer available.

2. If the Saxon player completes an objective, their other card is discarded which means they will never get a second objective star.

It follows that: it's impossible for the Saxon player to complete their first objective then exchange their second, right?


The rules don't say that you discard your second objective card after you complete the first one. People only do that because there was no reason to keep the other one unless you are playing as Saxony. Saxony can complete their second card and I would think they could still exchange it.
So now the question is can the non-Saxony players, after completing their first objective card, still use this ability to exchange their second card just to gain 1 popularity?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Non-Saxon players must discard their second objective after completing the first, so they can only use Hero before they complete an objective (it lets them cycle through objective cards until they find one they really want).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Cope
United States
Somerville
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

dhc3po wrote:
The rules don't say that you discard your second objective card after you complete the first one.

The quote above was copy/pasted from the rulebook.

dhc3po wrote:
can the non-Saxony players, after completing their first objective card, still use this ability to exchange their second card just to gain 1 popularity?

Great question!

Edit: ninja'd by Jamey.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Combs
United States
Spring Lake Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bfchooch wrote:

dhc3po wrote:
The rules don't say that you discard your second objective card after you complete the first one.

The quote above was copy/pasted from the rulebook.


I just found it in the middle of the paragraph about objective cards in the rule book. I should read those more carefully.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.