Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Great War» Forums » General

Subject: Retreat during combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Koziatek
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Reading the rules, this is a bit confusing. In some spots it seems to indicate that 1 retreat roll can always be ignored, in others it's more like Battle Cry, where 1 flag is 1 retreat, unless modified by terrain.
Could anyone clarify which is correct? Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no "one retreat can always been ignored" (except for tanks).

In most cases, the terrain the target is in is the primary factor here.
An infantry unit in trenches can ignore 2 flags. Lighter terrain can ignore one. Zero terrain is zero ignores.

There are rules for artillery where it can cancel out terrain effects.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark McG
Australia
Penshurst
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Units (except Tanks) can never ignore flags (retreats) unless allowed to do so by terrain. (or the odd Combat Card)

So check the terrain to determine whether flag(s) can be ignored, bearing in mind that there is a distinction between ranged and close combat attacks.

http://www.commandsandcolors.net/thegreatwar/the-game/terrai...

there are a few Combat cards that negate the ability of terrain to cancel flags, by recall Gas and Lice.

Tanks handle flags completely differently, which the rules cover comprehensively.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.