Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Gaia Project» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Newbie Question About Scoring Tiles rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Gonzalez
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
After playing it once with 3 players and once with 2, my wife and I are starting to feel like the round scoring tiles are something of a red herring.... How much should we be focusing on those? It really seems like going after those points can totally handicap your long-term development.

Should we instead focus on the final scoring tiles, forming federations, going up research tracks, etc; and, if we happen to conveniently be able to score some round bonuses along the way, the that's icing on the cake?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Threadgill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If scoring the victory points from the round marker will completely mess up your end game strategy, then you should ignore it. There are far more points available from the final scoring tiles and the research tracks at the end of the game.

Ideally, your strategy should allow you to really capitalize on 1 or 2 round bonuses to score a lot of points. The rest of the time it's nice to get the bonus once or twice a round, but if you don't it's no big deal.

However, if you skip those points every round and your opponent doesn't, you'll probably lose the game.
8 
 Thumb up
5.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
One of the keyparts to success is the understanding when you want to score points
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Gonzalez
United States
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hooliganj wrote:
If scoring the victory points from the round marker will completely mess up your end game strategy, then you should ignore it. There are far more points available from the final scoring tiles and the research tracks at the end of the game.

Ideally, your strategy should allow you to really capitalize on 1 or 2 round bonuses to score a lot of points. The rest of the time it's nice to get the bonus once or twice a round, but if you don't it's no big deal.

However, if you skip those points every round and your opponent doesn't, you'll probably lose the game.


That makes perfect sense! Thank you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert
Germany
Bocholt
flag msg tools
badge
I paid 100 Geek Gold so that you can read this! :-)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You won't win against decent opposition if you ignore the round scorings. It does make sense to plan the game around some of the round scorings - the more, the better.

E.g.:
* If your plan is to form your 1st federation in round 3, but federation scoring is in round 4, consider delaying it for a round and do something else in round 3 (maybe even whatever gives extra points that round ).
* If there's round scoring(s) for Gaia planets in the 2nd half of the game, it may be a good strategy to research Gaia Projects even if your faction doesn't have a special benefit for them.
* If there's a round scoring for research steps coming up, it's probably wise to save some knowledge for that round.

And so on...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dennis
Germany
Berlin
Berlin
flag msg tools
There are round bonuses you are better off ignoring, as they put you too far off a more efficient route.
There are round bonuses that make it worth delaying (or speeding up) an already sorta planned build by a round, if it gives good points.
And there are round bonuses that you can massively capitalize on.

The trick is figuring out which are which for the race you're playing and the situation you find yourself in...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M. P.
msg tools
Sorry for my english, we had this situation in our last game: 1 player was in in terraforming row of 4 and had 1 open alliance (with the green side). In row 5 of the terraforming line yu can take an alliance too, if you have an open alliance (have to switch that one you have to the gray side), also you have to switch it, if you wanna buy an advanced techtile (upgrade to an laboratory).
The question is: is it possible to make both (like in TM - getting a towntile allows you to go to position 10 in the same turn) or not. We decided "No", because you make the upgrade --> the step to pos 5 needs an alliance-tile with the green side and this step needs is done with an upgrade, but this upgrade to an advanced techtile needs also an green alliance-tile at the same time, the othe one you would get after reeching position 5 in terraforming-path.

Has anybody an idea, what is right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Threadgill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can use your green federation token to upgrade terraforming research to level 5 and claim the new federation token.

On your next action, you can upgrade a building to get a technology (or spend 4 QIC), and use the new federation token to get the advanced tech from the terraforming path.

From what you described, it sounds like you want to advance your research to level 5 and take the advanced technology at the same time, which doesn't happen. The advanced technology doesn't get you a research upgrade like the regular techs do.

From what you described, it sounds like you want to take the advanced technology first, and use that to advance your research to level 5. That would require you to have two green federation tokens ready to spend before you take the action. Afterward, when you gain the token from advancing to level 5, you'll have 2 gray federation tokens and 1 green token.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hooliganj wrote:
The advanced technology doesn't get you a research upgrade like the regular techs do.


You get a step in any research you choose if you take a advanced tech.
The problem here is that there is a clear order. You get the advanced tech. This costs an alliance token. Now you get a step, but as you don’t have an alliance left, you can’t get to step 5.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert
Germany
Bocholt
flag msg tools
badge
I paid 100 Geek Gold so that you can read this! :-)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hooliganj wrote:
The advanced technology doesn't get you a research upgrade like the regular techs do.
Of course it does! It's hardcoded: whenever you get a tech tile (no matter how), you can also advance on a research track. If the tech tile is a standard tech associated with a research track, you must advance on that research track. If it's one of the three standard techs not associated with a research track, or an advanced tech, you can pick which research track to advance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hooliganj wrote:
The advanced technology doesn't get you a research upgrade like the regular techs do.

Are you sure that's right? On page 13 it says "When you take an advanced tech tile, you may advance in any research area.", at least in the pdf version. Or am I misunderstanding something here?

Edit: ninja
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great that rule errors are mostly spotted really fast in these forums
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Threadgill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jack Spirio wrote:
Great that rule errors are mostly spotted really fast in these forums

Yes it is! I completely missed that one somehow. I've been playing without that bonus, so it's a good thing I haven't had the chance to teach the game to many people yet.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.