Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Catacombs & Castles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shield use question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeffrey Webb
msg tools
My family and I played our first round of the game yesterday and loved it, but are perhaps misunderstanding, or overthinking, the use of the Shield ability of Randsarr and Angelique.

After performing a melee shot, these hero's place the shield "anywhere within 1" of the hero's new location." The rule book then notes that if another character falls within this 1" range, the player can put the shield between themself and the approaching hero. But as a basic defense, does having the Shield up mean that it not only allows you to put space between you and another potential melee attacking character, but it physically prevents tokens from melee and Ranged shots from hitting you if it's in the way on the board? This seems kind of obvious, but given that the rule book only referenced the spacing element of the shields function, we wanted to be sure.

Super fun game so far. We've loved it.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Brooklyn Center
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
You got it right. It screws up other players shots that would otherwise be in great position. Especially those that have to shoot and then move.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.