Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Finished!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bringing Coffee back from the past rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Josh Taylor
United States
Olympia
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Card 48 forces you to drink coffee, but if you use card 8, 18, 30, 44, you bring cards from past to present.

Are you forced to drink coffee again?

I would say not, especially because the rulebook didn't discuss the possibility of NOT drinking coffee by using the "under the draw stack" action. You cannot do this to avoid drinking coffee, so I'm assuming you are not required to pay for the "extra" coffee.

Maybe it should have said "when you draw the coffee card, spend a coffee token" to indicate a new round.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torben
Germany
Gönnheim
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
badge
This is a sloth. It accurately represents my style of life.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules say that whenever you move 48 from the present to the past, you drink coffee. It's irrelevant how the card became part of the present, either from the future, the past, or the deck.

You can't change the rule to "drink coffee when you draw 48" because moving 48 to the future or the top of the deck is an important way to delay drinking coffee.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henning Kröpke
Germany
Ascheberg
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Card 48 forces you to drink a coffee, when you move that card to the Past Area, NOT when you add it to the Present Area.

So using an action to move the 48 from Past to Present does not force you to drink a coffee, BUT if you then move the 48 again into the Past, you must drink another coffee.

Henning
(2F-Spiele)
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henning Kröpke
Germany
Ascheberg
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Why are two Germans answering rules questions at 1:00 pm in the night?

laugh

Good night,

Henning
(2F-Spiele)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torben
Germany
Gönnheim
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
badge
This is a sloth. It accurately represents my style of life.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
7 cups of coffee? laugh
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Lajeunesse
France
Ivry-sur-Seine
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
badge
Hihihi... Stop that, I'm ticklish !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And therefore if I put the coffee card back under the stack with a purple action, I can have another go at the entire stack without spending any coffee token since the coffee card was not sent to the past area. Right ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henning Kröpke
Germany
Ascheberg
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Duncan wrote:
And therefore if I put the coffee card back under the stack with a purple action, I can have another go at the entire stack without spending any coffee token since the coffee card was not sent to the past area. Right ?


No.

As answered in at least two older threads:


Official Clarification:

Drinking coffee regularly:

When you move card 00:48 from the Present Area to the Past Area OR directly
below the Draw Stack, you must ALWAYS drink Coffee.

This is in effect for Step 6 and for the actions “Below the Stack” and “Cards into the Past”.

This is not in effect for the action “Exchange Cards”, when you place card 00:48 back on top of the Draw Stack.


Please accept our apologies, that this is not crystal clear in the glossary especially regarding the action "Under the Stack".

Have a lot of fun sorting some cards,

Henning
(2F-Spiele)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Lajeunesse
France
Ivry-sur-Seine
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
badge
Hihihi... Stop that, I'm ticklish !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, thanks for the answer.
So that's each time it leaves the play area.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Torben
Germany
Gönnheim
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
badge
This is a sloth. It accurately represents my style of life.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Depends how you define "play area".

To past or to bottom of deck: Drink
To future or to top of deck: Don't drink
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Lajeunesse
France
Ivry-sur-Seine
Ile-de-France
flag msg tools
badge
Hihihi... Stop that, I'm ticklish !
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All right. Top of deck isn't play area (future areas are).
I'll just remember to drink when the card goes to the past area or to the bottom of the deck, and that's it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian "Langalore"
United States
Sewell
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess my win last night didn’t count because I brought 00:48 back from the past and didn’t drink a second coffee when I moved it back to the past later in the turn.

I think this could all be avoided if the rules was “drink a coffee whenever you put the 00:48 back on the bottom of the deck” but I guess FF designed it to be punishing by bringing the 00:48 back to the present? I’m no designer. It must have been too easy if that was allowed.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.