Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Pandemic Legacy: Season 1» Forums » Rules

Subject: Spoiler? Relationship rules clarification needed rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Robinson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Dear BGGers,

We are slightly confused about the Co-Worker relationship, and I am not talking about the researcher gambit!

If you have a co-worker relationship do both characters still need to be in the same location to trade cards, or can you do it from anywhere in the world?

I have read it as from anywhere in the world, yes - I have the matching card - and it seemed very overpowered!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin V

Mount Oliver
Pennsylvania
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Spoiler? Co-Worker rules clarification needed
If both players are in the same city as the card being shared, that is the standard Share Knowledge action.

With a Co-Workers relationship, only one player needs to be in the city matching the card being given, the other player can be anywhere in the world.

If one of the Co-Workers is the Researcher, then they are not even limited by being in the city of the card being shared. For one action, they can give any city card to their Co-Worker and they do not need to be in the same city.

Also, for spoilers sake, you should probably remove the word Co-Worker from your subject line. While the relationships are known on the opening character cards, the specifics are not.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Amanda Zimmer
United States
Decatur
GA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Spoiler? Co-Worker rules clarification needed
Only one of the two people with Co-Worker needs to be standing in the city of the card being passed. (IIRC the ability has the wording "one of you"?)
So one of the players can be standing "anywhere in the world", the other one has to be in the city of what is being passed.

And then yes, there is the Researcher, who can now be standing anywhere and give cards away to her co-worker (or have them taken). I referred to this power as "using e-mail." So modern. =P
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ezequiel Genender
Argentina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Spoiler? Co-Worker rules clarification needed
Co workers: you may share knowledge as long as one if you is in the correct city. (The researcher may give any card to their co worker for one action)

So
Quote:
If you have a co-worker relationship do both characters still need to be in the same location to trade cards, or can you do it from anywhere in the world?

No, that would mean the relationship gives no benefit, since that is the regular Trade action.

One of the characters must be on the city being traded, the other doesn't have to.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Jones

Cambridgeshire, UK
msg tools
mb
Re: Spoiler? Co-Worker rules clarification needed
Let's use Cairo as an example card.

Normally, for player A to pass Cairo to player B, both A and B must be in Cairo.

If A and B are Co-workers, either A or B must be in Cairo, but the other can be anywhere.

If A is the Researcher, A and B must be in the same place, but they could be somewhere other than Cairo.

If A is the Researcher and is B's Co-worker, A can always pass Cairo to B, The two benefits stack so that A and B don't need to be in the same place and nor does either of them have to be in Cairo.

Note that everything I've said above applies regardless of whether A or B performed the Share Knowledge action. However, the Researcher's special ability only applies when they are giving someone a card, not when they are receiving (i.e. nothing special happens if B is the Researcher in what I wrote above).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Robinson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Re: Spoiler? Co-Worker rules clarification needed
Right, so we were right. Cool, thanks, ladies and gents!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay M
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
While we're at it, one question we had was does a new character have to be commissioned to create a relationship? We applied the rule as requiring that. (We kind of wanted to start a new one anyway).

If one of our characters in a relationship dies, can we start a new character, and create one of the unused relationships between the new character and an an ongoing one?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clive Jones

Cambridgeshire, UK
msg tools
mb
In step 7 of setup (rulebook p6), each player selects a character. This can be a character that has played in previous games, or one that has never been played before.

You can tell the difference because when you select a character that has never been played before, you "create" that character by giving it a name (rulebook p5). Rule sticker A then says that when you create a character, you give it a relationship to an existing (already named) character.

Each character only has two relationship slots, and nothing in the rules permits you to put a new relationship sticker over an old one.

As a special case, note that when player choose characters in step 7, the players choose their characters one by one, in any order they like. This means that if Alice creates the Researcher (who had never been played before) and gives them a relationship with the Medic (who was in at least one previous game) Bob can then create the Scientist (who had never been played before) and give them a relationship with the Researcher, even though the Researcher was only created mere seconds earlier.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Mann
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We set the Scientist and Researcher as coworkers and found February the easiest game of Pandemic we'd ever played. Lost January twice (only just) before this, and only ever won regular Pandemic a couple of times.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.