Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Item use and availability? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
ArcanumTL ArcanumTL
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi everyone - so we're still lowly noobs in the Gloomhaven world but I wanted to confirm how items are used and available.

I know in the rules that items are limited in stock from the city. How does this work with potions of stamina and healing? E.g. I purchased a stamina potion, it goes to my character and then I use it in a scenario. What happens to it in future scnearios:

Does this potion get "recharged" so I can use it again?
Or does it go back to the item stock in city?
Or does it disappear forever?

Thematically - it sounds like #2?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthieu Monteil
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Option 1 :
The potion get "recharged" so you can use it again.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Alder
United Kingdom

Wales
flag msg tools
badge
Lost In Time & Space
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Arcanum,

As said above, an item is never actually consumed it is usually just depleted when used during a scenario based on what's on the card. All armor, weapons, potions etc get recharged ready for the next battle, even if playing linked scenarios.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mauro Moura
msg tools
The potion gets refreshed (option 1), this is covered in the finishing a scenario section (page 33) "refresh all spent and exhausted item cards" .
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ancientvirus wrote:
Hi Arcanum,

As said above, an item is never actually consumed it is usually just depleted when used during a scenario based on what's on the card. All armor, weapons, potions etc get recharged ready for the next battle, even if playing linked scenarios.
It definitely is "consumed" - given that "consumed" is the keyword! But I know what you mean, it's not a one shot and gone item that requires you to buy another one to use it again.

@OP take a look at the icons on item cards and then refer to page 8 of the R2 rulebook for a description of those icons. In particular, you will find the following information
Quote:
All items are refreshed between scenarios. No item can be permanently consumed.
(original emphasis)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are some items that are returned to the game box rather than the store due to scenario effects - which means you cannot acquire that item again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Morthai wrote:
There are some items that are returned to the game box rather than the store due to scenario effects - which means you cannot acquire that item again.

can you give an example of such an item?
(just the item number is fine, under a spoiler tag if you prefer)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Morthai wrote:
There are some items that are returned to the game box rather than the store due to scenario effects - which means you cannot acquire that item again.
Presumably such items have specific text on them that says that. So the card and its iconography suffices to understand the usage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mccrispy wrote:
Morthai wrote:
There are some items that are returned to the game box rather than the store due to scenario effects - which means you cannot acquire that item again.
Presumably such items have specific text on them that says that. So the card and its iconography suffices to understand the usage.

No the scenario defines that the item is retired not the text of the item. One scenario doing this is:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
burning mountain
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Morthai wrote:
mccrispy wrote:
Morthai wrote:
There are some items that are returned to the game box rather than the store due to scenario effects - which means you cannot acquire that item again.
Presumably such items have specific text on them that says that. So the card and its iconography suffices to understand the usage.

No the scenario defines that the item is retired not the text of the item. One scenario doing this is:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
burning mountain

ah, so that is a scenario-specific rule rather than an item-specific rule.
Spoiler (click to reveal)
like throwing the One Ring into the fires of Mt Doom
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Morthai wrote:
mccrispy wrote:
Morthai wrote:
There are some items that are returned to the game box rather than the store due to scenario effects - which means you cannot acquire that item again.
Presumably such items have specific text on them that says that. So the card and its iconography suffices to understand the usage.

No the scenario defines that the item is retired not the text of the item. One scenario doing this is:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
burning mountain
Right, so that wasn't really necessary for clarification or moving the discussion forward. Got it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
thespaceinvader -
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
As in many similar properties, particularly D&D, you're not actually buying the potion, you're buying a magic bottle that generates a single dose of potion per scenario.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Marney
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
thespaceinvader wrote:
As in many similar properties, particularly D&D, you're not actually buying the potion, you're buying a magic bottle that generates a single dose of potion per scenario.


The potion shop offers free refills. That 10 gold pays for a lifetime subscription to the Minor Stamina Potion club.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
patrick mullen
United States
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Robyrt wrote:
thespaceinvader wrote:
As in many similar properties, particularly D&D, you're not actually buying the potion, you're buying a magic bottle that generates a single dose of potion per scenario.


The potion shop offers free refills. That 10 gold pays for a lifetime subscription to the Minor Stamina Potion club.


Actually the refills are 10 copper. All of the prices that we see in the game are actually 10 copper cheaper, we just see the price rounded to the nearest gold.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.