Hi, i have few questions to ask regarding this expansion after i started playing for a few times.
I looked through the rules and even youtube mayfairs game tutorial but i could not get an answer for it.
1)can i move an empty ship? If so...What if an empty ship touches an undiscoved hex?
2)after delivering a ship with crews onto an pirate lair, what happen to the ship if it still has movement points?can i still use it to load my crew back into the same ship?
3)what happen if a settler ship discover a pirate lair? Is not possible to build a settlement since it is still not conquered by crews, what should happen to this settler ship? In the land ho scenario it mention "discovery ends all ship movements"
4)what happen if a settler ship discover a sea hex?can it continue to move as long as it still has movement points?
5)can ship with crew discover undiscover hexes? Or only a settler ship can do so?
Hope to hear from you soon. Thank you so much.
I have played the 2nd scenario (Pirate Lairs) a few times now. I just got the game recently and we are enjoying it a lot.
1) Yes you can move an empty ship. If any of your ships points towards the corner of an undiscovered hex, the hex is immediately discovered and turned over even if the boat is empty. You then recieve the corresponding resource or if it is a water hex or pirate lair you recieve 2 gold coins. Once any tile is discovered (resource, water or pirate lair) that ship can no longer move this turn even if it has movement points remaining. You may move your other ships.
2) After delivering crew onto an already discovered pirate lair the boat can continue to move if it has movement points remaining. However it can’t load the same crew back onto the boat this turn as the pirate lair is only resolved at the end after all your boats have finished moving. Loading and unloading a boat is free.
3) Any ship including a settler ship can discover a pirate lair and recieve 2 gold. You are correct that you can not settle or build anything on a pirate lair until the pirates have been defeated. You are also correct that discovering ends the movement of this ship. However you may move your other ships.
4) Discovery ends the boats movement even if it is a water hex.
5) Any ship can discover but only a settler ship can build a settlement.
Hope that helps. Let me know if you need any clarification or more help.