Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Attacks targeting "all enemies within range X" count as ranged? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mitko Simidchiev
Bulgaria
Sofia
flag msg tools
Check out our Bulgarian board games site BigBoxGamers.com
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey,

So a search through these forums about this yielded several threads touching upon this but it was never the main question asked and there seemed to be confusion about the intent of this so here is the direct question:

Do attacks that target "all enemies within range X" of a character count as ranged for the purposes of disadvantage vs adjacent and effects that add +range to ranged attacks?

The go-to example for this is the Cragheart's Unstable Upheaval but further examples in purposefully vague spoilers follow below.

Spoiler (click to reveal)
The triforce character has an attack that targets all enemies within range 4

The musical note character has an attack that targets all enemies within range 2 and pushes


Thanks and Happy New 2018 in a few hours!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arthur Janicek
Canada
Winnipeg
Manitoba
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
P. 19 Rulebook.

"Ranged attacks are accompanied by a “Range Y” value, which means any enemy within Y hexes can be targeted by the attack. Any ranged attack targeting an adjacent enemy gains Disadvantage against that target (see Advantage and Disadvantage on pp. 20–21 for details)."

So yeah. It's ranged. Adjacents suffer disadvantage and enhance away with plus range effects.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mitko Simidchiev
Bulgaria
Sofia
flag msg tools
Check out our Bulgarian board games site BigBoxGamers.com
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, so follow-up question to this then. Spoilers for the Triforce class and an item below

Spoiler (click to reveal)
The triforce class has an attack that hits all enemies at EXACTLY range 2 from him. What happens when +1 Range gets applied to this via the helm that buffs range of attacks? All enemies at exactly range 3 or all enemies at ranges 2 AND 3?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Germany
flag msg tools
Unstable Upheaval was changed in the second printing (to be a two-hex-away melee attack), so whether it’s a ranged attack or not depends which set of rules you want to play by.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom
msg tools
alexmitko wrote:
Ok, so follow-up question to this then. Spoilers for the Triforce class and an item below

Spoiler (click to reveal)
The triforce class has an attack that hits all enemies at EXACTLY range 2 from him. What happens when +1 Range gets applied to this via the helm that buffs range of attacks? All enemies at exactly range 3 or all enemies at ranges 2 AND 3?




I'd very much like to know the answer to this as well. I can't find it anywhere, want to know if a specific item purchase is worth it or not.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tibbles von tibbleton
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
alexmitko wrote:
Ok, so follow-up question to this then. Spoilers for the Triforce class and an item below

Spoiler (click to reveal)
The triforce class has an attack that hits all enemies at EXACTLY range 2 from him. What happens when +1 Range gets applied to this via the helm that buffs range of attacks? All enemies at exactly range 3 or all enemies at ranges 2 AND 3?




I’m sure it’s be one of:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
1. Hit all targets at exactly range 3.
2. No effect cause it’s not a max range, it’s specified at range 2.

Doubt it’s going to be at range 2 AND 3.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
alexmitko wrote:
Ok, so follow-up question to this then. Spoilers for the Triforce class and an item below

Spoiler (click to reveal)
The triforce class has an attack that hits all enemies at EXACTLY range 2 from him. What happens when +1 Range gets applied to this via the helm that buffs range of attacks? All enemies at exactly range 3 or all enemies at ranges 2 AND 3?

Spoiler (click to reveal)
It would be all enemies at exactly range 3. All the helm does when you use it is change the Range # by adding 1 to it. The rest of the wording on the attack card still applies, so it would target all at exactly Range 3. The helm is a "use once and then it is spent" item, so if you wanted to hit all range 2 enemies, you would simply choose not to use the item for that attack action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des T.
Germany
flag msg tools
This user optimizes his gaming experience.
badge
This user might be a mutant in hiding.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JayJ79 wrote:

Spoiler (click to reveal)
It would be all enemies at exactly range 3. All the helm does when you use it is change the Range # by adding 1 to it. The rest of the wording on the attack card still applies, so it would target all at exactly Range 3. The helm is a "use once and then it is spent" item, so if you wanted to hit all range 2 enemies, you would simply choose not to use the item for that attack action.

I concur.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.