Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Thing: Infection at Outpost 31» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sabatoge after swapping during battle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David M
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule book specifies you resolve sabotages after swapping during an investigation, but it doesn't specify you do during a battle. We assumed you did, but wanted to check if battles were different.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Sanderson

Illinois
msg tools
As far as I know. For investigations

1. Players put cards into pool
2. Captain shuffles looks at cards, immediately resolves any Sabatoges.
3. If team number and departments are met captain can swap a card.
4. Resolve any Sabatoges.
5. Then pass or fail mission.


From what I gather it happens that exact way in battle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thor A
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On re-reading the rules, I think we played it wrong by being forced to deal with swapped in sabotage cards during battles.

from pg. 14 of the rules:

C. The Captain looks at the pool. Sabotage cards are revealed
immediately and must be dealt with or the battle fails. The Captain
may swap any one pool card, discarding it in exchange for another
from the Supply deck.

D. The pool is revealed and the Dice Value of the cards is totaled.
No more than 6 dice may be used for the roll. After the tally, the pool
is discarded.


This doesn't say anything about resolving a swapped in sabotage card whereas the rules about investigations specifically state that sabotages revealed after the swap must be dealt with.

from pg. 12 of the rules:

If a Sabotage card is revealed, (added after the Captain swapped a
Supply card) it must be resolved immediately or the investigation
fails.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.