Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question regarding personal quest card 532 (** spoilers inside **) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dor Levi
msg tools
mbmbmb
The "A helping hand" quest states -

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Experience two other characters achieving their personal goals.


My question is -

Spoiler (click to reveal)
What exactly constitutes as experiencing them achieve it?
Is it the act of retirement?
Is it (for example) performing the last kill in a "kill X" quest?


And a more specific question -

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Me and my friends character's both completed their personal quest on the same mission.
We went back to the town, I retired first, and got the "A helping hand" quest.
He then retires as well.

Does this constitutes as one of the two "experience achieving" necessary?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
al Cann
United States
Warwick
New York
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
molejo wrote:
The "A helping hand" quest states -

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Experience two other characters achieving their personal goals.


My question is -

Spoiler (click to reveal)
What exactly constitutes as experiencing them achieve it?
Is it the act of retirement?
Is it (for example) performing the last kill in a "kill X" quest?


And a more specific question -

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Me and my friends character's both completed their personal quest on the same mission.
We went back to the town, I retired first, and got the "A helping hand" quest.
He then retires as well.

Does this constitutes as one of the two "experience achieving" necessary?


Spoiler (click to reveal)
I haven't checked the FAQ on this, but experiencing a character achieving his/her personal quest would be witnessing the character killing that final monster, or becoming exhausted that final time, etc., not when they return to GH to retire.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
albcann wrote:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
I haven't checked the FAQ on this, but experiencing a character achieving his/her personal quest would be witnessing the character killing that final monster, or becoming exhausted that final time, etc., not when they return to GH to retire.


Good point. There is a difference between
Spoiler (click to reveal)
a character accomplishing their personal quest goal, and a character retiring. The accomplishment itself takes place during a scenario (or at least upon completion of a scenario), while the retirement is a seperate action that occurs the next time that character returns to town.


Therefore, I would think that a character with the "Helping Hand" quest
Spoiler (click to reveal)
only gets credit for "experiencing" another player completing their personal quest if they are participating in the scenario where that other character accomplishes their quest requirements.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dor Levi
msg tools
mbmbmb
I didn't find it in the FAQ, but somehow it only now occurred to me to try and search for "532" blush... which led me to https://boardgamegeek.com/article/27618921, which according to Isaac
Spoiler (click to reveal)
actually says it does count, if done in the correct order.


Which is counter-intuitive in my opinion...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabrizio Senesi
Italy
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
molejo wrote:
The "A helping hand" quest states -

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Experience two other characters achieving their personal goals.


My question is -

Spoiler (click to reveal)
What exactly constitutes as experiencing them achieve it?
Is it the act of retirement?
Is it (for example) performing the last kill in a "kill X" quest?


And a more specific question -

Spoiler (click to reveal)
Me and my friends character's both completed their personal quest on the same mission.
We went back to the town, I retired first, and got the "A helping hand" quest.
He then retires as well.

Does this constitutes as one of the two "experience achieving" necessary?


i've problem whti this quest.
Brute of my party has personal quest 532 (Experience two other characters achieving their personal goals) but my other 2 char has:
complete x scenarios, kill x bandits.

How brute can can experience my two other char ?

THANKS
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Baker
United States
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
It’d be pretty funny if it said you had to experience two other PLAYERS achieve their personal goals.

<sits down to play> IT’S ABOUT TIME YOU FINALLY APPLIED TO LAW SCHOOL, DAVE!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Baker
msg tools
Quote:
i've problem whti this quest.
Brute of my party has personal quest 532 (Experience two other characters achieving their personal goals) but my other 2 char has:
complete x scenarios, kill x bandits.

How brute can can experience my two other char ?


When your other two characters have both retired (or when one of them has retired and its successor retires), this quest is complete and your Brute retires as well. Depending on the timing, this can be a very, very fast quest to complete (our party just did it in two scenarios), but it’s generally pretty slow in 2-player for obvious reasons.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.