Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Fourth Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Jol-Nar Brilliant ability rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff G
msg tools
It states "When you spend a command token to resolve the secondary ability of the "Technology" strategy card, you may resolve the primary ability instead.

Do I still need to pay the 4 resources associated with activating the secondary ability of the Technology strategy card? Or does this ability mean that I only pay the single command token instead of command token + 4 resources?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Korric Morgan
United States
Holyoke
MA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It means that you just pay the command token to gain 1 technology, and you can then, optionally, pay 6 resources for another technology.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Basically, when they spend the CT to activate the secondary, instead of using the text of the secondary, they resolve the text of the primary. As Korric says, basically they spend the token to get a free tech, and can get a second tech for 6. They don't have to pay the 4 at all.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorgen Peddersen
Australia
Sydney
New South Wales
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are resolving the primary ability instead of the secondary ability. Spending resources is part of the secondary ability.

So you just spend the Command Token, get a tech for free, and can spend 6 resources to get a second tech.

Edit: Note to self. Remember to refresh after you have gone to the components to confirm there is no quirk in the wording to avoid ninjas.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clayton Threadgill
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You only pay the command token, then you get 1 research for free and the option to pay 6 resources for a 2nd research.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Brennan
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
meeb93 wrote:
you may resolve the primary ability instead.


Are we sure that you get to do both the primary AND secondary ability? it says "instead" which seems to imply that you wouldn't get to use the secondary ability...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TreacleMiner wrote:
meeb93 wrote:
you may resolve the primary ability instead.


Are we sure that you get to do both the primary AND secondary ability? it says "instead" which seems to imply that you wouldn't get to use the secondary ability...

Nobody said you get to do both. The Primary allows you to get up to 2 techs - one free, one for 6 resources. Doing both would allow 3 techs.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Brennan
Canada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh whoops! I didn't have the game in front of me and forgot about that 2nd tech from the primary ability. Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.