Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Merchants of Araby» Forums » Rules

Subject: Paying the cost to use cards in Entourage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Hunter
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is clear that when playing a card from your hand you can pay the cost by discarding suitable cards from your hand but when adding Camels to a caravan you cannot discard a card from your hand to produce the required good.

What about tasking a card in your Entourage that requires payment such as the Courtesan who requires you to spend 1 of any product or Merchant Ashaki Mariama who requires you to pay a coin, can you discard a suitable card to pay the cost of tasking these cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Levi Mote
United States
Albany
OR
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The easiest way to think about it is that discarded cards reduce the cost of playing a card or using an ability.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Hunter
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. That makes sense to me.

I think my uncertainty with the rules arises from the wording of the Note on page 6 of the rules. "No one can produce a product for use on a caravan by discarding cards from their hand".

What you are saying is that you can produce a good for use on a caravan by discarding a card from your hand e.g. Discard a card with a coin to use a Djinn card that produces a product and use that product to place a camel on a caravan.

What the Note on page 6 should say is that you cannot just discard a card to place a camel on a caravan i.e. You cannot use the product icon on a card discarded from your hand as the product required to place a camel on a caravan.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.