Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Gaia Project» Forums » Rules

Subject: Ivit space station chaining? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Allen
United States
flag msg tools
badge
It's dangerous to go alone! Take this.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think I know the answer to this, but I wanted to confirm. You can't build a new space station using another space station as the starting point, correct? Since the space station is not a structure, you'd have to measure the accessibility from an actual structure.

True or false?

Thanks in advance.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jack Spirio
Austria
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Unless I’m wrong space stations count as buildings for calculating range
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristof Bodric
Serbia
Novi Sad
flag msg tools
badge
And the ranger's aim was deadly with the big iron on his hip...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
On page 20 of the rulebook at the bottom of the 2nd column.

Quote:
A space station does not count as a colonized planet,
but it can be used as a “starting point” when determining the
accessibility of a planet (i.e., range can be counted from a space
station
).
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
trevor

Missouri
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
False, the space station is basically both a satellite and a building with a power of one
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bigGameGeek wrote:
False, the space station is basically both a satellite and a building with a power of one

Is that accurate? That would imply you could charge power from a space station.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Wolfpacker
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Vidra quotes the rule book. I’d go with that.

The space station is a satellite that counts as a starting point for range calculations for anything The Swarm (Ivits) can place (space station, build mine, place gaiaformer, etc). It counts as 1 power towards a federation but not any leech (give or receive).
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert
Germany
Bocholt
flag msg tools
badge
I paid 100 Geek Gold so that you can read this! :-)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Of course you can chain space stations next to each other.

Also, even with range 1 you could use a QIC to place a space station 3 hexes away from your nearest planet/space station, and then grow on from there. Which, btw., would be a legal 2-step way to reach a planet four hexes away without using a 2nd QIC. Now whether this is a good idea given that the Swarm aims for one big mega-federation is another question.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.