Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Spirit Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: Skipping powers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tristan Archer
United States
Idaho
flag msg tools
So I can skip any part of a power? Land of Haunts and Embers says add 1 blight. Can I skip that entirely?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Schlepphorst
msg tools
No. You can totally skip a power, but not part of it.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tristan Archer
United States
Idaho
flag msg tools
Sweet, thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nick Reale
msg tools
mbmb
The only way to skip part of a power is to voluntary choose not to meet an elemental threshold even though you actually have the elements.

Other than that, you either choose to use all of a power or none of it (though you still get its elements either way).

Powers that have a drawback, like Land of Haunts and Embers, tend to be under-costed to make up for it.
3 
 Thumb up
0.25
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anon Y. Mous
msg tools
mbmb
What could possibly possess you to think you can skip the drawbacks of powers?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
P Kim
United States
Washington
DC
flag msg tools
Follow up: Say I meet the second threshold for "Darkness Swallows the Unwary" (so, gather one explorer, then destroy two explorers and add one fear per explorer destroyed). If I target a land containing 2 explorers, but no adjacent lands contain explorers, I can still use the power (following the "Do As Much As You Can" principle). However, if any adjacent lands contain explorers, I must gather one if I want to destroy any, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dylan Thurston
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
draxinusom wrote:
Follow up: Say I meet the second threshold for "Darkness Swallows the Unwary" (so, gather one explorer, then destroy two explorers and add one fear per explorer destroyed). If I target a land containing 2 explorers, but no adjacent lands contain explorers, I can still use the power (following the "Do As Much As You Can" principle). However, if any adjacent lands contain explorers, I must gather one if I want to destroy any, correct?
Correct. This is often annoying.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Take Walker
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I would like to thank this thread for making me realize I've been playing Shadows all wrong. Time to retry that solo game I just lost!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dylan Thurston
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
TakeWalker wrote:
I would like to thank this thread for making me realize I've been playing Shadows all wrong. Time to retry that solo game I just lost!
Is there a FAQ question that would have helped you?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian M
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Whoa. Almost 100 plays and I had no idea you could play a power to gain its elements without trigger its effects.

surprise
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Pureka

Massachusetts
msg tools
StormKnight wrote:
Whoa. Almost 100 plays and I had no idea you could play a power to gain its elements without trigger its effects.

surprise


When you really think about it, you kindof HAVE to be able to do this.

Let's say you play a slow power that requires a sacred site to target from. But you goofed something up and a ravage blight destroys your only sacred site. Now you have a power in play that you are not legally allowed to target anything with. So you have, essentially, played a power for the elements.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian M
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That would just fall into the "do as much of the power as you can" rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.