Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Kemet» Forums » Rules

Subject: Premonition Skill & Prescience power rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nguyen Lam
Vietnam
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Prescience
In Battle, your opponent
must show you his battle
card before you play yours.

Premonition
In a battle, your opponent has to show
you the Battle card they play before you
play yours. If both players have a Premonition
skill, the attacking player reveals
his Battle card first.


Let's say that player A has Premonition Skill, Player B has Prescience power. Player A attacks player B. A battle will take place. How is it resolved?
Premonition says: "The attacking player reveals his first battle card."
I guess Player A's Skill is not used. Right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Gene Ammons - Boss Tenor
badge
The Brief and Frightening Reign of Phil - George Saunders
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nglamarc wrote:
Quote:
Prescience
In Battle, your opponent
must show you his battle
card before you play yours.

Premonition
In a battle, your opponent has to show
you the Battle card they play before you
play yours. If both players have a Premonition
skill, the attacking player reveals
his Battle card first.


Let's say that player A has Premonition Skill, Player B has Prescience power. Player A attacks player B. A battle will take place. How is it resolved?
Premonition says: "The attacking player reveals his first battle card."
I guess Player A's Skill is not used. Right?

We've been down this road before: Prescience power tile and Tactical Choice DI card timing question
1 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nguyen Lam
Vietnam
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sphere wrote:

That's Tactical Choice DI. Here is the Premonition Skill.
1 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ronaldo Fatecha
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I think there is another post about this somewhere, but can't find it now.

I would say they cancel each other out and the battle is resolved as normal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Calcagno
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
...I'm still waiting on a pre order to magically appear off a slow boat from China, so I've not played yet, but for Premonition there is a clause that the attacker reveals first. True, that specifically says if both players have "Premonition" but "Prescience" is essentially the same effect, so I'd propose that the two effects are what counts. I'd have the attacker reveal first...IMHO.

If both players have a Premonition
skill, the attacking player reveals
his Battle card first.
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ronaldo Fatecha
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Antares Rangers wrote:
...for Premonition there is a clause that the attacker reveals first. True, that specifically says if both players have "Premonition" but "Prescience" is essentially the same effect, so I'd propose that the two effects are what counts. I'd have the attacker reveal first...IMHO.


The skill specifically mentions Premonition, so I don't think the designers intended it to work as you describes. Plus, that would make the skill too powerful (as it would trample a power tile, while they are current balanced since the skill would affect only troops with priests).
1 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Calcagno
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Legonian wrote:
Antares Rangers wrote:
...for Premonition there is a clause that the attacker reveals first. True, that specifically says if both players have "Premonition" but "Prescience" is essentially the same effect, so I'd propose that the two effects are what counts. I'd have the attacker reveal first...IMHO.


The skill specifically mentions Premonition, so I don't think the designers intended it to work as you describes. Plus, that would make the skill too powerful (as it would trample a power tile, while they are current balanced since the skill would affect only troops with priests).


Okay, Ronaldo...I defer to your experience, as that was simply a guess on my part...
Good gaming in 2018!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nguyen Lam
Vietnam
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess Player A's Skill is not used. Right?
The answers are unclear.
"I would say they cancel each other out and the battle is resolved as normal." ??

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ronaldo Fatecha
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Antares Rangers wrote:
Good gaming in 2018!


Thanks man. May you have many great gaming nights this year!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.