Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Charterstone» Forums » Rules

Subject: [Minor spoiler] Unavailable benefits rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Narciso Jaramillo
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Spoiler (click to reveal)
The FAQ implies that it's legal to use a building whose benefit is a type of advancement card for which none are on the mat - you just don't get the benefit. Is it also legal to use a building that provides a minion when no more minions of that type are available?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Rakstad
United States
Normal
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, that may be done.

The only examples where that isn't the case is with the zepplin (building a building), Charterstone (opening a crate) and the Grandstand (claiming an objective. In each of those cases, you must build the building, open the crate, or fulfill the objective in order to get the 5 points.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Narciso Jaramillo
United States
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Makes sense. Presumably the same restriction also applies to other buildings that let you do those actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joepunman wrote:
Yes, that may be done.

The only examples where that isn't the case is with the zepplin (building a building), Charterstone (opening a crate) and the Grandstand (claiming an objective. In each of those cases, you must build the building, open the crate, or fulfill the objective in order to get the 5 points.


This also applies to any building that allows you to open crates, build buildings or claim objectives.

However, post campaign there is an exception to these:
Spoiler (click to reveal)
Post campaign, you can use the zepplin and charterstone (and similar buildings) without having the necessary card to build/unlock - the reason for this being that at some point you will run out of these. The Grandstand (and its ilk) will always require you to complete an objective.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.