Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Charterstone» Forums » General

Subject: Questions on timing issues (spoiler) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christian Letourneau
Canada
St-Lambert
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Item cards. Can I turn them in by paying the resource cost at any time during my turn (before or after taking my action)? Can I turn in more then one? Can I choose to not turn them in on my turn even if I have the appropriate resources for it and decide to do it only when I feel the timing is right?

2. Minions. When placed on a building, does the ability trigger before going through the building resolution steps? Exemple. I put a golem on a building with a cost of 1 clay for 1 gold and 1 vp. I don't have the clay in my supply. Can I place the golem on the building, get a clay from its ability and then immediately use the clay to pay the building cost?

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Rakstad
United States
Normal
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes to both
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Israel Waldrom
New Zealand
Dunedin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Yes to all.

2. Yes.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Henderson
United States
Spokane Valley
Washington
flag msg tools
I see two people say yes to number two. My group wouldn't let me do this last time we played. I wanted to place a butler and use his gold to complete the building action. Is there something official on this somewhere? A quote from Jamey, faq, link? Thanks
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jamey Stegmaier
United States
St. Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Scott: Sure, it's on the FAQ (the link is on the first page of the rulebook).

https://stonemaiergames.com/games/charterstone/faq/
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you go through the rules carefully step-by-step, you can see it works. I don't have them in front of me, but using a building has three steps (paraphrased):

1. Place a worker on the building
2. Pay the cost of that building
3. Gain the benefit of that building

And then if you look at the rules for the minions, it says you gain the benefit of placing a minion when you place it. Therefore, you gain that benefit during Step 1 above, and you have it in time for Step 2.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Henderson
United States
Spokane Valley
Washington
flag msg tools
Thanks Jamey and Darren. I appreciate it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Letourneau
Canada
St-Lambert
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jameystegmaier wrote:
Scott: Sure, it's on the FAQ (the link is on the first page of the rulebook).

https://stonemaiergames.com/games/charterstone/faq/


Just found it in the faq. We looked during our game but somehow missed it.

Thanks to all for your quick and helpful replies.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.