Thumb up
2 Posts

The Pacific War: From Pearl Harbor to the Philippines» Forums » Rules

Subject: End of turn VP calculations rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stuart Tonge
United Kingdom
South Yorkshire
flag msg tools
The second item is 'Players compare the number of bases they control'
This is clear enough but then goes on to say..
'ports that are not captured by a player are also counted as bases they control'

uh.. what?

We've been over this sentence for about 20 minutes now and neither of us can understand what on earth the question actually is.

does this mean add the ports you started with to the calculation?
it is a typo and should it say 'bases' instead of ports?

The example doesn't help as it says the allied player has 5 bases which cannot be right if we're adding non-captured ports (Hawaii, East Coast, Samoa, Oz, Ceylon, Madagascar is 6 before we even count the bases up)
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Lewis
United States
flag msg tools
“Whatever you do, He will make good of it. But not the good He had prepared for you if you had obeyed Him.” Perelandra, C.S. Lewis
"He died not for men, but for each man. If each man had been the only man made, He would have done no less.” Perelandra, C.S. Lewis
You can have forces in a Port but not enough to take control of it. In that case, you put a Base marker down.

For instance, the Japanese may defeat the single US ship in the Philippines, but not have the 2 Ground Force points (1 for every 20 surface and air factors) to take control or the Resource Card necessary to flip the Port marker. Assuming that there are only Japanese forces there, the Port would remain Allied but a Japanese Base marker would be placed there.

I don't have the rules handy, but there's a picture showing this with a Japanese Base on Australia while Australia remains an Allied Port.

The side with the most Base markers gets 1 VP in addition to the actual VPs of the Ports under their control.

Hope this helps.
 Thumb up
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.