Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The Quest for El Dorado» Forums » Rules

Subject: Movement Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Kevin Green
United States
North Tonawanda
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's say I want to traverse 3 hexes. The difficulty of these in order is 2, 1, and 3.

I have two cards. A 5 and a 1.

Can I travel this path?


An additional question - if I have movement of one type left over, then move over another type, then wish to move over the first type again - none of that movement carries over between types, even between the same turn, right?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon W
United States
Aurora
CO
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kmancheese wrote:
Let's say I want to traverse 3 hexes. The difficulty of these in order is 2, 1, and 3.

I have two cards. A 5 and a 1.

Can I travel this path?

No.

Quote:
An additional question - if I have movement of one type left over, then move over another type, then wish to move over the first type again - none of that movement carries over between types, even between the same turn, right?

Correct.


For movement, just resolve each card fully before moving on to the next, and you'll have no issues.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stefan Yates
United States
Olsburg
Kansas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From Page 3 of the Rule book under A-Movement:
Quote:
Any played card must meet 2 requirements:

1. The symbol on the card must match the color/symbol on the
space that you want to move to.

2. The power value of the card must be equal or higher than
the power of the space.

If both conditions are met, you can move onto that space.

If you have “leftover” power, you may use it to continue moving to the
next space. The same 2 requirements apply, but you first subtract the
power you already spent from the played card’s power value.


You would have to play your 5 card to get through the 2. The carryover could be used on the 1 but you don't have enough carryover to cross the 3. You would still have the 1 in hand, but can't add that to your carryover amount to get you through the 3.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Green
United States
North Tonawanda
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks everybody!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mortego
United States
New Kensington
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I just want to add that played cards during a player's turn do NOT go into the discard pile, they are suppose to be played in front of the player's player board. After they are finished then they discard the played cards. That prevents any kind of infinity loop.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.