The rules say when he comes into play the taoists may save a villager "following the normal rules." What does that mean? The normal rules state that saving a villager is an action, but this cannot be an action. Does it mean the villager has to already be on the same tile as the portal? Or if there are no villagers there, are we allowed to move a villager onto the portal space and then save him?
This is correct. Steven Qi-Gal is the one who is saving a villager, not a Taoist. Probably because he’s a Buddhist.