Ossian Grr aka "Josh"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stronghold and Sanctuary wrote:
Each player determines the distance
between his Stronghold and his Sanctuary
(they must be connected). To determine
this number, count the number of spaces
between those two Structures (counting the
space of one of the two Structures). If there
are multiple paths between them, choose the
shortest one of them. (If you did not build
both of these Structures, you do not get any
Victory points for this Final Scoring tile.)


If you have built both structures, but they're not connected, can you still qualify for scoring this tile? The first sentence implies "no", but the last sentence only explicitly mentions that you don't score if you haven't built both of them.

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Sprockitz
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
They must be connected in order to score.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Grant
United States
Cuyahoga Falls
Ohio
flag msg tools
One of the best gaming weekends in Ohio since 2010. Search facebook for "BOGA Weekend Retreat" for more info!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jozxyqk wrote:
Stronghold and Sanctuary wrote:
Each player determines the distance
between his Stronghold and his Sanctuary
(they must be connected). To determine
this number, count the number of spaces
between those two Structures (counting the
space of one of the two Structures). If there
are multiple paths between them, choose the
shortest one of them. (If you did not build
both of these Structures, you do not get any
Victory points for this Final Scoring tile.)


If you have built both structures, but they're not connected, can you still qualify for scoring this tile? The first sentence implies "no", but the last sentence only explicitly mentions that you don't score if you haven't built both of them.

Thanks.

Why would the last sentence negate the very explicit requirement in the first sentence?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ossian Grr aka "Josh"
United States
Chelmsford
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
GRRRRR!!!
badge
GRRRRRRRRR!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
grant5 wrote:
Why would the last sentence negate the very explicit requirement in the first sentence?


I was pretty confident of the answer but since there was no example to contradict, I wanted to make sure.
Sometimes wordings - especially in translated rules - don't mean what you think they say (have come across the "most obvious" interpretations being wrong in other euro rulebooks before).

So it didn't hurt to ask for confirmation.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Michaud
United States
Longwood
Florida
flag msg tools
On-Line Want List Generator - Hopefully Making Math Trades a Little Bit Easier
badge
Captain Kirk, Captain Picard, Captain Sisko, Captain Janeway, Captain Archer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
fwiw this has already been asked/answered....

sh - sa distance

in addition in that thread you'll also find a quote from the rules that applies to *all* the new scoring tiles that they must be in same connected group....

DocCool wrote:
To quote the rules for the new final scoring:

Each of the following Final Scoring tiles follows the Area scoring rules: only Structures that are within the same cluster of
directly or indirectly adjacent Structures count (i.e. connected Structures).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathias Schütt
Germany
flag msg tools
German rule book is much more clear to me than the english one. It says that you only have to build sa and sh (they dont have to be connected in any way), for final score you only have to check out the shortest distance between those two buildings.




 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robin Zigmond
United Kingdom
Durham
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well I don't have access to the German rulebook, and can't read German very well anyway - but isn't there an introductory section about the new final scoring tiles where it explains connection is always required in order to receive any points for the scoring? (See the quote from DocCool in the post above yours.)

I am 100% certain that the SA and SH must be connected in order to count for this scoring.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Wolfpacker
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Robin is only 100% sure. However, I am infinitely sure that the SA and SH have to be connected in order to qualify for this scoring. Now, you might have other structures that are not connected to the SH and SA and that's ok. Everything you have on the board doesn't have to be connected, just the SH and SA.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mathias Schütt
Germany
flag msg tools
Hello again and shame on me because you two are absolutely right.
I have found the important rule sections which you mentioned.
Thanks for your responds. Now we are fine.




3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.