Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Tao Long: The Way of the Dragon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Not clear about "biting" and "ranged attacks" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Danner

Oregon
msg tools
I'm assuming that when a dragon's head is adjacent to another dragon, this constitutes a "bite," and that a "ranged attack" implies there is some distance between the attacking dragon and its opponent. In short, can a dragon whose mouth becomes adjacent to another dragon do a ranged attack?
Or is a bite only possible in this situation? I wasn't sure because the illustration in the rulebook under "Expelling an Element" makes it look as though the white dragon who is scoring "2" on the ruler is (or could be) directly adjacent to the black dragon.

Thanks for clarification.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Morse
United States
Powell
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Daniel Mills wrote:
I'm assuming that when a dragon's head is adjacent to another dragon, this constitutes a "bite," and that a "ranged attack" implies there is some distance between the attacking dragon and its opponent. In short, can a dragon whose mouth becomes adjacent to another dragon do a ranged attack?
Or is a bite only possible in this situation? I wasn't sure because the illustration in the rulebook under "Expelling an Element" makes it look as though the white dragon who is scoring "2" on the ruler is (or could be) directly adjacent to the black dragon.


When your face is adjacent to, and pointed at the other dragon, you can bite, unless you are using Fire or Water, in which can you cannot bite.

If you "choose" Fire or Water in the Spirit phase, then you cannot bite, even if your face is in the right place. Instead, you can Expel, which is considered a ranged attack, even if you are in a biting position. So, when you Expel, you deal 2 + element bonus damage, rather than 1 bite damage.

Does that make more sense?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Morse
United States
Powell
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
P.S. Seeing the sequence of stuff spelled out in the Tao Long holistic summary may help you understand how it works.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danner

Oregon
msg tools
Thanks so much for the speedy reply. Yes, this makes sense. I'll check out the holistic summary, too.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
THE REVENGE OF THE GOLDFISH
Greece
Thessaloniki
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you bite opponents dragon head?

What happens if dragons heads facing each other and their adjacent afte a move that enable bite?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Morse
United States
Powell
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Friedrich wrote:
Can you bite opponents dragon head?

Yes.

Friedrich wrote:
What happens if dragons heads facing each other and their adjacent afte a move that enable bite?

You only attack on your turn. So, whoever moved into that position bites the other. The other must turn left or right on her turn, or skip the Matter phase and lose 1 life.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad103
United States
Skaneateles
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
zefquaavius wrote:
You only attack on your turn. So, whoever moved into that position bites the other. The other must turn left or right on her turn, or skip the Matter phase and lose 1 life.

Don't forget! If you're able to do Lake (while horizontal) or Mountain (while vertical), you 'stay still' for a turn (denoted by the double lines ||). This is the only legal way to not move on your turn. When doing this you can still bite afterwards! Very handy move.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Morse
United States
Powell
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oops, yes, quite so, Brad! Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.