FAQ 1.1 wrote:
Q: What happens when I enter a contested area and all defending units are routed?
A: Combat still occurs, but players skip directly to the Resolution step of combat with the attacker automatically winning. The defending units are forced to retreat...
But if all units are routed during execution, the battle continues for the full three rounds, as long as each side has units. Correct?
If all units are routed, damage is still assigned per usual, and if it does not kill a routed unit, nothing happens, correct?
So a routed Space Marine can absorb 2 damage each round with no change to the game state, correct?
Are these the only cases when retreats occur?
* All defending units are already routed at start of battle.
* The battle goes the full three rounds without either side being destroyed.
* Card effects.