1 , 2  Next »   | 

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Seeking Play Testers

Subject: How much are you willing to pay to try out a game? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Moss Doerksen
Canada
flag msg tools
I have a game I have been working on for a few years and I think it is about time to start sharing it with a wider audience than just the people I can play with. It is perhaps beyond the mere play testing stage, but it could certainly use feedback. I would like to get a feel for what people are approximately willing to fork out or how many people would be interested to try a game if it costs $XX. I am thinking of releasing it in some sort of semi-print-and-playable format, but I think you will want to purchase at least some of the components, unless I underestimate people's willingness to produce the components for a game they have never played before.

I won't go into the details of what my game is at this point. Keeping it abstract may make the question more useful to other game designers too. For now, just assume that it is a game that interests you. It looks similar to games you enjoy, you have read the rules and it sounds solid, you have seen pictures and it looks nice. Oh, and it is not a tiny game like Sushi Go. More like Settlers or Power Grid.

Currently I am looking at a combination of components from printplaygames.com and some Lego pieces from brickowl.com. For the Lego pieces I can make a public whishlist so you can easily see what components you need and order them. I am hoping to be able to do something similar with printplaygames.com but I am waiting to hear back from them about that. Regardless, the best thing I can figure out for my game requires ordering from two different sites.

Right now it looks like these are the approximate costs for the necessary components, in USD:
Lego Pieces - $14 (includes shipping)
Resource cards or tokens - $7
Tiles - $16.60
Game board - $14
Bag for tiles - $2
Printed rules - $1.58