Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Thing: Infection at Outpost 31» Forums » Rules

Subject: Voluntarily pass your turn rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Moshe
Israel
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi All,
According to the first question in "Edge Cases" on page 18:
"A Captain may voluntarily pass their turn and remain in the Rec Room to allow everyone to exchange a card, but you may skip resolving Smoke and Fire only once each game".

This is a very interesting rule, as we did encounter missions which we had no way to pass (no matching cards), and were wondering whether it could help with that.
However, this rule isn't mentioned anywhere in the rest of the rulebook (that I found), and raises quite a few questions:

1. Does the captain decide this on her own, or is there a vote?
2. In each game, can you skip once per Captain, or once total?
3. Do you decide this after revealing the Mission Log card, or before?
4. Can you skip only if there is no available room to go to (all with smoke/power out/fire and nobody with a matching card), or can you decide to skip even if there is an available room to go to for the mission?
5. Do you skip the mission, or only the Smoke and Fire? or something else? i.e., does the current mission fail, do you discard it, or do you just postpone it to the next turn?
6. Can you use this once to skip resolving Smoke and Fire after you DO go on a mission?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Moshe
Israel
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Our assumptions are:
1. Captain decides
2. Once total
3. Doesn't matter - according to our understanding of 4&5, drawing a mission card has no effect
4. Yes, only skip if no room is available
5. Skip the entire turn
6. No

But we're so unsure about this rule...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jared Bronson
United States
Riverton
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Starkiller wrote:
Hi All,
According to the first question in "Edge Cases" on page 18:
"A Captain may voluntarily pass their turn and remain in the Rec Room to allow everyone to exchange a card, but you may skip resolving Smoke and Fire only once each game".

This is a very interesting rule, as we did encounter missions which we had no way to pass (no matching cards), and were wondering whether it could help with that.
However, this rule isn't mentioned anywhere in the rest of the rulebook (that I found), and raises quite a few questions:

1. Does the captain decide this on her own, or is there a vote?
2. In each game, can you skip once per Captain, or once total?
3. Do you decide this after revealing the Mission Log card, or before?
4. Can you skip only if there is no available room to go to (all with smoke/power out/fire and nobody with a matching card), or can you decide to skip even if there is an available room to go to for the mission?
5. Do you skip the mission, or only the Smoke and Fire? or something else? i.e., does the current mission fail, do you discard it, or do you just postpone it to the next turn?
6. Can you use this once to skip resolving Smoke and Fire after you DO go on a mission?

Thanks!


Based on the wording you mentioned on page 18 in the rulebook, it's once per game.

So...

1) The Captain Decides
2) A Captain can decide to skip, once per game, if the Edge Case scenario of "nobody is willing to reveal a Fire Extinguisher or Flashlight in order to enter a room and there are no other rooms unlocked" is in effect.
3) I say it can be BEFORE or AFTER drawing a Mission Log card. As you may draw a Smoke or Power Outage while Drawing a Mission Log, the Edge Case can now be relevant. If the Edge Case is in effect BEFORE drawing a Mission Log, the Captain may skip at that time.
4) The Captain can skip ONLY if you are in the Edge Case of "nobody is willing to reveal a Fire Extinguisher or Flashlight in order to enter a room and there are no other rooms unlocked."
5) I say skipping works like skipping a turn using a Rope. If the Mission Log is drawn, and the Captain decides to skip, the Mission Log is then passed on to the next Captain. Everyone is then allowed to exchange a card. This gives them an opportunity to draw a Fire Extinguisher or Flashlight for the next Captain's turn. If no Mission Log has been drawn, the next Captain draws a Mission Log.
6) No. You are skipping a turn while you are in the Rec Room, before going on an Investigation. If you have left the Rec Room, you have left and entered another room. The Edge Case specifically states that you remain in the Rec Room.

EDGE CASES. Page 18:

Q. What happens if nobody is willing to reveal a Fire Extinguisher or Flashlight in order to enter a room and there are no other rooms unlocked?
A. Using a Molotov allows all players to exchange a card before Choosing a Room. A Captain may voluntarily pass their turn and remain in the Rec Room to allow everyone to exchange a card, but you may skip resolving Smoke and Fire (see Resolving Smoke and Fire on page 14) only once each game.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.