World in Flames» Forums » Strategy

Subject: Advice for a newbie playing Japan in 1941? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Hugh Grotius
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm a relative newb playing a solitaire Global War game, using Matrix WIF (and thus RAW7). It's J/A 1941. I'm using limited overseas supply, oil, ships in flames, carrier planes, DIVs, indeed many optional rules. (I've got a handle on land operations; Barbarossa is moving along nicely.) But I am really unsure of how to handle Japan's initial conquests. If anyone can take the time to answer, I'd appreciate it! (FYI, I've posted a similar question in the Matrix WIF forums, but no one has replied yet.)

Right now I have 2 AMPH and 3 TRANS on the map, with one of each arriving in N/D 1941, and one more AMPH in J/F 1942. Some specific questions:

1. Do I need an HQ in Malaya? As of now, I've positioned a Japanese INF in Singora. As I read the supply rules, the INF can use Singora's port as part of a basic supply path, so it can grab the (undefended) Malaya resource and then move on to undefended Kuala Lumpur (KL), the capital of Malaya. KL is 3 hexes from Singora, so the INF will be in supply if the weather is Fine, but OOS if it's rain or storm or blizzard. KL can't serve as a secondary supply source until Malaya is conquered, and that won't happen until the Conquest step at the end of the turn. KL is a port, but that won't help me unless I have CPs in the Bay of Bengal; maybe that should be part of the plan? Anyway, I'm inclined to think I need an HQ in Malaya, but I'm not sure.