Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader» Forums » Rules

Subject: question about routing in desert battles. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Scott Lynch
Canada
Halifax
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So you can not rout toward an enemy, or in open ground in front of any fire. What about Desert battles? There's not cover at all. So are squads just dead?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Whittemore
United States
Coronado
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a lot of nuance to the rout rules and I suggest a careful read.

For example, you can in fact route toward the enemy. Just not a "known" enemy unit - meaning an enemy unit in LOS of the routing unit. For example, if an enemy unit is out of sight (from the routing unit's perspective), you may rout towards it. As soon as it comes into view though, it is now "known" and you likely will have to pick a new route target.

Another example - you can in fact rout in the open and within firing range of enemy units. Your routing unit will undergo "interdiction" while routing normally, or it can "low crawl" a single space and avoid interdiction.

Even within those two examples there are nuances and there are other route rules as well. These rules really make the game and need to be fully understood.

So in the desert, you can route and suffer interdiction but possibly still survive, or low crawl. You don't suffer interdiction when routing through terrain that provides a defensive benefit so even some scrub or rough kind of terrain (I don't own any desert modules) may allow you to route.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Lowry
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No time to look up particular rules references, but here's the outline:

If you are broken, and cannot rout without going through Open Ground, you must surrender... if there's anyone to surrender to. If there isn't (no Enemy is ADJACENT or in your hex), you may rout. If you rout through OG in normal range of Enemy units, you are subject to Interdiction... unless you use Low Crawl.

Expect to see a fair amount of Low Crawling happen in desert scenarios.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Fabbro
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No rule book handy, but I believe that units in a desert scenario can be eliminated for failing to route only if an enemy unit is within 6 hexes of it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J. R. Tracy
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

The Rout rules are also tweaked a bit for desert scenarios:


F.1C ROUTING: In any scenario, a broken unit forced to rout but unable to reach a woods/building hex in that RtPh may rout to any terrain hex consistent with A10.51 but is not required to rout to the nearest woods/building hex. In a non-night scenario which uses only Desert Board(s) that are not Broken/Steppe Terrain (13.1-.2), a unit can be eliminated for Failure to Rout (A10.5) only if the enemy unit(s) forcing it to rout is within six hexes of it.
17 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ruben Rigillo
Italy
Roma
Rm
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. As you can see from J.R. Post, desert Rout provisions are slightly different. This is stated in Chapter F. Lacking buildings and woods, you can choose any kind of NON-open terrain as your rout destination. Often they are far more than 6MF so in order to avoid interdiction you must seldom rely on Low Crawl.(as James suggested)
Note that DUST, one of the desert major features, can positively increase your chances to survive interdiction.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce Probst
Australia
Glen Waverley
VIC
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In addition to the rule J.R. quoted, there is also the extremely important:

F.5 SURRENDER: In all scenarios set in North Africa (as defined in F11.2), Surrender may not be refused -- i.e., a surrendering unit may not be eliminated thereby invoking No Quarter (A20.3).

If you don't have F11.2 handy, North Africa is defined as: Egypt, Libya, Tunisia, Morocco and Algeria.

This is one of ASL's infamous "hidden rules". It's not really hidden, of course, it's right there in plain sight, but a lot of players forget that it exists. While almost all scenarios set in Egypt and Libya (and there are many) are desert scenarios (so the application of a Chapter F rule is hardly surprising) there are several scenarios set in Tunisia that do not "look like" desert scenarios and therefore it's easy to forget that this Chapter F rule can apply.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.