Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Fred Methot
Canada
SAINTE-JULIE
QUEBEC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I just started playing AH LCG, ran through first scenario twice just to get the hand of it before playing a real campaign.

I'm confused by the "Engage" action and not really understanding what's its purpose, especially when playing solo.

Rulebook states:

(regarding monster engagement)
Quote:

While an enemy card is in play, either it is engaged with
an investigator (and placed in that player’s threat area),
or it is at a location (and placed at that location).
[...]

Any time a ready non-engaged enemy is at the same
location as an investigator, it engages that investigator
and is placed in that investigator’s threat area.

(regarding the "Engage" action)
Quote:

Engage
The investigator using this action engages one enemy
that is at his or her location.
To engage an enemy, the
investigator places that enemy in his or her threat area.

Strategy Tip:
This action may be used to engage either an enemy
that is not currently engaged
or an enemy that is currently
engaged with another investigator at the same location.

So, my understanding of the above rules is that as soon as a monster either spawns into a location with an investigator, or if an investigator moves to a location with a monster, that monster automatically engages the investigator.

So in which circumstances would the "Engage" action make any sense then?
Based on the above, engagement would automatically happen as soon as monster(s) and investigator(s) are sharing the same location.

The only purpose I can think of is in a multiplayer game, where one investigator could engage a monster already engaged with another investigator to relieve an investigator in trouble...

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Kayati
United States
Worthington
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Aloof is a thing.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Rodriguez
United States
Carrollton
Texas
flag msg tools