Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Transatlantic» Forums » Rules

Subject: How are the 5 Buildings used in the game? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Gordy
United States
Eden Prairie
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, played our first game last night, and we could not figure out how to use the 5 building cards that come in the game. Three of us looked over the rules and could find no reference to them other than in the component section. How are they used?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Des Lee
Australia
Quakers Hill
NSW
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Points, that's all. At the end of the game, you basically score them as ships of that colour flag.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Gordy
United States
Eden Prairie
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
losfp wrote:
Points, that's all. At the end of the game, you basically score them as ships of that colour flag.


So they are added to the deck of ships in set-up and are purchased in the same queue as the ships?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sven De Backer
Belgium
Lier
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Unfortunately, the "buildings" as they are called in the components list, are referred to as "headquarters" later on in the setup sheet and further rules section of the rulebook.

Basically, they are the last cards to enter the ship market. They are treated similarly to ships but are never deployed at sea. They simply count towards your end score as an undeployed ship would. (In addition, when a player ONLY acquires a headquarter on a turn, the leftmost ship is not sent to the docks.)

Hope this helps.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fredrik Thunarf
Sweden
Uppsala
flag msg tools
badge
Oh, I would have accepted the leprosy alone; but not leprosy and eroticism together, oh no, for the love of God, erotic leprosy?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gumps wrote:
losfp wrote:
Points, that's all. At the end of the game, you basically score them as ships of that colour flag.


So they are added to the deck of ships in set-up and are purchased in the same queue as the ships?


Correct. They will be at the bottom of the ships deck and thus be the last cards to enter the shipyard.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
diminuendo wrote:
Gumps wrote:
losfp wrote:
Points, that's all. At the end of the game, you basically score them as ships of that colour flag.


So they are added to the deck of ships in set-up and are purchased in the same queue as the ships?


Correct. They will be at the bottom of the ships deck and thus be the last cards to enter the shipyard.
Not quite in the same way as ships!
Quote:
A player may purchase 1 ship plus
1 headquarters, or only 1 headquarters,
but never 2 headquarters at once.
Important: If only 1 headquarters is
purchased, no ship enters the docks
(headquarters never enter the docks).
The ship market is restored in the usual
way as long as possible.
It's one of those issues of parsing the rules, but the section on Headquarters is in the "Further Rules" section and easily overlooked when you're scanning the rulebook. Having said that, the setup guide says
Quote:
The stack of ships is prepared with all cards face down near the ship market: The headquarters (10) at
the bottom, followed by stack numbers 9 -1 in descending order. To be clear, stack number 1 is on top.
So the terminology is used from the very beginning
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Dunn
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
You toast the waffle.
badge
In a syrupy voice, the awful waffle walker tries to butter you up.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does the leftmost building discard after a shipyard action like a ship?

Do the buildings in the belt need to all be bought for endgame to trigger or is it when the last ship ship is gone?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MC Crispy
United Kingdom
Basingstoke
Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
quietcorn wrote:
Does the leftmost building discard after a shipyard action like a ship?
I'll repeat the rules on Headquarters from the post that I made immediately above your post, but I'll highlight the text relevant to your question.
Quote:
A player may purchase 1 ship plus
1 headquarters, or only 1 headquarters,
but never 2 headquarters at once.
Important: If only 1 headquarters is
purchased, no ship enters the docks
(headquarters never enter the docks)
.
The ship market is restored in the usual
way as long as possible.

quietcorn wrote:
Do the buildings in the belt need to all be bought for endgame to trigger or is it when the last ship ship is gone?
And here's what the rules on the game end say
page 1 of the rules wrote:
GAME END
The game ends after the last steamship is
purchased from the ship market. The current
round is completed, and one additional round
is played.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.