Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can a ground unit move into an air/naval battle hex in reaction? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shinya Yamaguchi
msg tools
Hi all

The battle hex has a friendly air unit and it is attacked by enemy air/naval units. A friendly ground unit is adjacent to the hex, and wants to move in there to strengthen the defense. (SL Corps to move into Manila, at the beginning of 1942 scenario, to be more precise)

Is it legal to move SL Corps in reaction to the air/naval attack to Manila?

The rule says that reaction units must join the battle, but this SL Corps would not battle in Manila, for it would be only air/naval combat. On the other hand, one could say that SL Corps would still join the battle in Manila anyway, so this reaction move should be legal.

How should I do? (^_^)

Thanks in advance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francisco Colmenares
Canada
Woodbridge
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Perfectly legal. There doesn't need to exist the possibility of land combat for land units to react, just a battle that run into. Besides, if that weren't the intention imagine the shenanigans of naval units "reacting" to a battle just to bring in ground troops. It wouldn't make sense that you could ship forces in but not march them in.

Consider another (contrived) example. small Air or naval units (strength 10) attack a weak ground unit in a hex to bomb it (think, reducing a brigade that has defense 6 or 8). Nothing stops you from reacting a strong ground unit (a big full strength army, defense of 12) so that at least the hex will still have a strong defense after the raid. After all the army is participating in the battle... by being bombed!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Is it legal to move SL Corps in reaction to the air/naval attack to Manila?


As Francisco already stated, totally legal and intended. This is how the game simulates the retreat into the Bataan peninsula.

Mark
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shinya Yamaguchi
msg tools
Thanks, Francisco and Mark. I got it.

(^_^)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.