Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Terraforming Mars» Forums » Rules

Subject: Solo game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Will McDonald
United States
Harrah
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How many actions can you take per generation
when playing the Solo variant?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl S.
United States
Sun Prairie
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
unlimited, just as in a normal game's generation, you just aren't interrupted by other players every two actions...
16 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will McDonald
United States
Harrah
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Got it, thanks.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I AM Not A Number
France
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
But remember red arrows actions can only be done once per generation.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
starxplor

Rochester Hills
Michigan
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
iamnan wrote:
But remember red arrows actions can only be done once per generation.


At least in the base game, they made sure to specify 'action' for something done once per generation and 'effect' for something that is continuously waiting to be activated by something else.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Shanaman
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
starxplor wrote:
iamnan wrote:
But remember red arrows actions can only be done once per generation.


At least in the base game, they made sure to specify 'action' for something done once per generation and 'effect' for something that is continuously waiting to be activated by something else.


If a card has both an effect and an action, can both be used in one generation? E.g., Self-Replicating Robots has an action where you can double the resources on a card. It also has an effect that the card can be played as if it is in your hand. After doubling resources in a 1st action, could a playing then play the card in the 2nd action?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Parker
United States
Saint Charles
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes. Effects can happen at any time. Actions are once per generation. You can use Self Replicatings action and then pay for it using its effect. Or you can use the cards effect, and put a new card on it and use the action. Or you can not get the card at all with the effect and just use the action n
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Shanaman
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
CenozoicMatt wrote:
Yes. Effects can happen at any time. Actions are once per generation. You can use Self Replicatings action and then pay for it using its effect. Or you can use the cards effect, and put a new card on it and use the action. Or you can not get the card at all with the effect and just use the action n


Thanks. Alas, when I asked about this in a game, this weekend, the idea was shot down. I'll know better, next time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.