Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

The U.S. Civil War» Forums » Rules

Subject: rule 9.3 must the avoid battle hex be pre-determined? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Randy C
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Robert L Howard (Medal of Honor recipient)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Must the avoid battle hex be predetermined? Seems correct.

but rule seems to say otherwise.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Calxx55 wrote:

Must the avoid battle hex be predetermined? Seems correct.

but rule seems to say otherwise.


No, the rules don't specify this. The phrasing even implies that you don't select a hex until after the die roll is made.

But I don't understand why this would be an issue. By the time the roll is being made, there's nothing more the phasing player can do to impact where the retreating force can avoid battle to.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy C
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Robert L Howard (Medal of Honor recipient)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

so if defender wants to avoid over a mtn pass, but would fail the roll with the -1 modifier he can then decide to avoid into a clear hex.

he can decide where to avoid after the roll? seems wrong to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Dauphinais
United States
Chesterfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The selection of hex is made is made AFTER the Avoid Battle dice roll. You can even choose not to take the Avoid Battle if you do not like the choices available to you after you see the dice roll. However, if you do, it is then treated as a failed Avoid Battle dice roll.

It is not wrong. It is specifically what Mark intended.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy C
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Robert L Howard (Medal of Honor recipient)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Thanks Jim!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.