Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Clue» Forums » Rules

Subject: WHERE can you make an accusation? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joseph Monroe
msg tools
This seems to be a point that is never spelled out in the rules. It says you need not be in the same room AS the one you include in your accusation (unlike a suggestion), but do you need to first move into a room at all to make the accusation?

Which is to say, can you make an accusation from the hallway, or without leaving a room from the turn before?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My interpretation is that accusations are made out of phase. Basically, you’re bidding to end the game, and in either case you will end the game for yourself. So it doesn’t matter where you are, and you don’t have to have just moved.

You don’t even need to wait for the start of your next turn - you can enter a room, make a suggestion, get the result of that and then immediately make an accusation.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Monroe
msg tools
Yes, but do you HAVE to get to a room first? Can you be the first to solve it, but then be tripped up by random chance and not be allowed to,make the accusation,because of some unlucky dice rolls?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The Count
United States
Sacramento
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
I agree with Andy.

Also in my version it has this rule in the accusation section.

Quote:
If, after making a false Accusation, your character pawn is blocking a door, move into that Room so that other players may enter.


That pretty much describes a scenario where you aren't in a room when making an accusation.

Welcome to BGG.
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Hanna
United States
Pittsburgh
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
So this issue came up while playing tonight.
Player A- starts a tumor in the hall
Player B- uses a "rumor stays unanswered" card
Player A- uses Prof. Plum's personality card and decides to start a second rumor.

Player B says this is an illegal move because they wouldn't have played the unanswered rumor card had they known a second rumor could be started.

Player A felt like this was simply a clever way to bypass the unanswered rumor card.

If this is a legal move, does the second rumor have to be different? Or could you ask the same rumor again?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.